Sour Cream Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
fantastic recipe, great hit with my work mates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great cake. Delicate and rich flavor at the same time. I used canned pears (2 medium cans of pear halves in pear juice). I had no problems gettting the cake out of the pan either. I also used light sour cream, applesauce for the butter and AP flour for the cake flour (and followed sub directions given on allrecipes.com substitution chart). I didn't think that the spices overwhelmed the flavor of the pears but the pear taste doesn't jump out at you either. I'll make this cake again as one of our during-the-week desserts but not for a special occasion. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is soooo scrumptious. Took about 10 minutes longer to bake then the suggested time, but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I made this for a potluck breakfast without adding the ice cream topping. It came out moist, flavorful and looks beautiful after it is sliced. Everyone at the potluck loved this cake and several wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Delicious! I made for Christmas morning and my family loved it. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made a rookie mistake and didn't check my pantry and found I was out of nuts! I thought about chocolate chips but decided they would overpower the taste so I grabbed a half bag of skor bits and poured them in the brown sugar, cinnamon mixture. The strusel in the middle turned into a tasty butterscotch swirl. The topping was the best though as it was almost like a brown sugar sauce in spots where the mixture was blobbed. So good! I wouldn't make it any other way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out delicious. Very moist, good texture and just sweet enough. I don't think it is very fair to rate this as a 4 star if you altered the ingredients and methods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This cake was wonderful. I used more cinnamon instead of ginger and walnuts instead of pecan. Everyone love it. will definately make again. I also used all purpose flour instead of cake flour and it turned out great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made this cake and everyone loved it. I also had a few people ask for the recipe. I made it exactly as written except I substituted splenda for the white sugar to cut some of the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Two words MOIST & DELECTABLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States