Sour Cream Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Not a 1,2,3 Cake! I will make this for company (The day before!) Also, I thought I had ALL the necessary ingredience...Wrong! I wasn't aware that, What the pear tree gave us, was eaten and the rest shared with neighbors. So, I used strained canned peaches, as a substitute. The remainer of the sour cream, in the frig. went bad....so I used plain yogurt, instead. Since I had all the other ingredients, including the Carmel topping, it was great! Maybe, I should re-name this..."The Substitue Bundt." PS: It also needs More than 2 TBS.Cinnamon sugar for coating...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Made exactly as recipe stated, it's a good cake. Nobody raved about it, so for the amount of work required, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was a good cake. Had a little prep work, but overall not that difficult. Husband is a cake person and LOVED it. Not being a cake person, I thought it was okay. A little heavy on the cinnamon/spices for my taste, and I even used an extra pear. Didn't really care for the caramel topping with it. I think whipped cream would go better. It comes out very heavy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
cake was pretty good. i fried some pears in butter and some honey and also made my own caramel sauce to top it. i think that without the fried pears i would have only rated three stars. also, i ended up with a lot of batter and the cake was over-flowing. i didnt mind, but just be weary. of course, if you bake a lot, you would know not to put as much batter in the pan as i did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This cake was very moist. I didn't have enough sourcream so I used half sourcream and half vanilla yogurt. Next time I won't use all the brown sugar/cin/ginger mixture in between layers. It overpowered the light pear taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very moist. Love the pecan mixture's taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Moist, light flavor and delcious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I had lots of fresh pears so I doubled the recipe and put it in 4 loaf pans. Great texture, moist. But even though I like ginger, it was too overpowering. I would half the spices and sugar in the crumble mixture. The pear cake itself even without that mixture would have been better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This cake was delicious. A great cake to make that's quick and easy and perfect for an afternoon snack with coffee. I used almonds instead of pecans as I didn't have them. I also used a loaf tin instead of a tube tin so I had to bake a little bit longer for the middle to cook. The cinnamon sugar coating used to greased the tin caramelised slightly which gave it a great texture. Didn't use the caramel topping..I think it's sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is soooo scrumptious. Took about 10 minutes longer to bake then the suggested time, but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States