Sour Cream Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made a rookie mistake and didn't check my pantry and found I was out of nuts! I thought about chocolate chips but decided they would overpower the taste so I grabbed a half bag of skor bits and poured them in the brown sugar, cinnamon mixture. The strusel in the middle turned into a tasty butterscotch swirl. The topping was the best though as it was almost like a brown sugar sauce in spots where the mixture was blobbed. So good! I wouldn't make it any other way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This cake was delicious. A great cake to make that's quick and easy and perfect for an afternoon snack with coffee. I used almonds instead of pecans as I didn't have them. I also used a loaf tin instead of a tube tin so I had to bake a little bit longer for the middle to cook. The cinnamon sugar coating used to greased the tin caramelised slightly which gave it a great texture. Didn't use the caramel topping..I think it's sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
my only changes were to increase the cinnamon and used all purpose flour. 1/4 tsp did not sound like much. However, there is the cinnamon suagr in the crust when it was buttered and it didn't really need the extra cinnamon after all. Great way to use up the too many ripe pears I had on hand! mine came out nice an moist. I did not use the carmel. I like carmel...but this cake is quite sweet as it is and added carmel would make it just too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This cake was wonderful. I used more cinnamon instead of ginger and walnuts instead of pecan. Everyone love it. will definately make again. I also used all purpose flour instead of cake flour and it turned out great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I made this as a 13x9 coffee cake with only two layers. I thought the batter needed more liquid - it was difficult to spread in the pan - and after baking found the cake entirely too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Not a 1,2,3 Cake! I will make this for company (The day before!) Also, I thought I had ALL the necessary ingredience...Wrong! I wasn't aware that, What the pear tree gave us, was eaten and the rest shared with neighbors. So, I used strained canned peaches, as a substitute. The remainer of the sour cream, in the frig. went bad....so I used plain yogurt, instead. Since I had all the other ingredients, including the Carmel topping, it was great! Maybe, I should re-name this..."The Substitue Bundt." PS: It also needs More than 2 TBS.Cinnamon sugar for coating...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made this cake and everyone loved it. I also had a few people ask for the recipe. I made it exactly as written except I substituted splenda for the white sugar to cut some of the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great cake. Delicate and rich flavor at the same time. I used canned pears (2 medium cans of pear halves in pear juice). I had no problems gettting the cake out of the pan either. I also used light sour cream, applesauce for the butter and AP flour for the cake flour (and followed sub directions given on allrecipes.com substitution chart). I didn't think that the spices overwhelmed the flavor of the pears but the pear taste doesn't jump out at you either. I'll make this cake again as one of our during-the-week desserts but not for a special occasion. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Delicious and moist. I used all purpose flour, omitted the ginger and added more cinnamon. I also did not use the caramel topping. I did however use a light powdered sugar/milk/vanilla icing. The brown sugar/cinnamon/pecan topping is the best part. A bit time consuming but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I had lots of fresh pears so I doubled the recipe and put it in 4 loaf pans. Great texture, moist. But even though I like ginger, it was too overpowering. I would half the spices and sugar in the crumble mixture. The pear cake itself even without that mixture would have been better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States