Sour Cream Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made a rookie mistake and didn't check my pantry and found I was out of nuts! I thought about chocolate chips but decided they would overpower the taste so I grabbed a half bag of skor bits and poured them in the brown sugar, cinnamon mixture. The strusel in the middle turned into a tasty butterscotch swirl. The topping was the best though as it was almost like a brown sugar sauce in spots where the mixture was blobbed. So good! I wouldn't make it any other way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Delicious! I made for Christmas morning and my family loved it. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I made this for a potluck breakfast without adding the ice cream topping. It came out moist, flavorful and looks beautiful after it is sliced. Everyone at the potluck loved this cake and several wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
fantastic recipe, great hit with my work mates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is soooo scrumptious. Took about 10 minutes longer to bake then the suggested time, but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This cake was delicious. A great cake to make that's quick and easy and perfect for an afternoon snack with coffee. I used almonds instead of pecans as I didn't have them. I also used a loaf tin instead of a tube tin so I had to bake a little bit longer for the middle to cook. The cinnamon sugar coating used to greased the tin caramelised slightly which gave it a great texture. Didn't use the caramel topping..I think it's sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I had lots of fresh pears so I doubled the recipe and put it in 4 loaf pans. Great texture, moist. But even though I like ginger, it was too overpowering. I would half the spices and sugar in the crumble mixture. The pear cake itself even without that mixture would have been better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Moist, light flavor and delcious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very moist. Love the pecan mixture's taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This cake was very moist. I didn't have enough sourcream so I used half sourcream and half vanilla yogurt. Next time I won't use all the brown sugar/cin/ginger mixture in between layers. It overpowered the light pear taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States