Sour Cream Noodle Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is okay, but it takes a lot of pots for something so simple. Flavor could use a bit of jacking up; it helped to add more spaghetti sauce and some mesquite seasoning. Very easy but yes, similar to Hamburger Helper . . .just baked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this for my kids because I had a lot of the ingredients on hand. They liked it. I didn't have cottage cheese so I used cream cheese and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Left out the onions and the butter. Family really enjoyed this. I liked that it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Bafia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
After reading the reviews it was evident to me that this needed to be kicked up some. I used 1/2 cup of tomato sauce and 1/2 cup of salsa, that really helped. I used minced garlic instead of powdered garlic with 1 tea of oregano. That did the trick for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I liked it, but substituted quite a bit and changed a bit. I browned venison in oil with 3 cloves chopped garlic and 1 cup reconstituted onion flakes and a can of chopped mushrooms, seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I didn't have ricotta so subbed a block of cream cheese, and added a can of regular Rotel and a can of black beans, rinsed. Didn't have egg noodles so subbed Rotini. Didn't have tomato sauce so used a can of tomato paste, added 1 cup water and 1 tsp sugar and mixed. Mixed everything but noodles together in saucepan and simmered for 10 minutes. It was beautiful and creamy, but definitively bland. Spiced it up with a dash more of pepper, a few shakes of chili powder and 5-6 splashes of Franks Red Hot. This did the trick. Covered noodles in dish and stirred together, covered in mozzarella and breadcrumbs. My 2 y.o. sometimes picky eater gobbled it up, wasn't too spicy, just flavorful. Sauce with all the extras made a full 9x13 and 8x8, though I had to make more pasta for the 8x8. Sauce was so good I was eating it with a spoon during assembly. Froze 8x8 and sending it to grandma's for an easy meal when she watches 2 y.o. tomorrow. Great recipe for any leftovers, and so easy to sub things in, use what you've got! Put this in the recipe box for a quick, filling meal. DEFINITELY BETTER THE NEXT DAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Looks really good. I might try sausage as one reviewer mentioned or ground dark meat turkey. Not a fan of beef. Also I think I'll try it without any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was just "ok." I didn't have cottage cheese so I used ricotta instead. It was overall kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Yummy even though I substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream. It made enough to freeze half for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is one of my husbands fovorite meals. I use real garlic, and a package of cream cheese instead of cottage cheese. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States