Sour Cream Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Very tasty. I made it in the crockpot and let it simmer all day. The chicken was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This recipe is really good but tastes similar to chicken Jeruselum. In a saucepan, I warmed the soups, sour cream, wine and spices and stirred until smooth. Then, I placed the chicken and mushrooms in the baking dish and poured the mixture on top. Approx 5 min before chicken was done, I steamed chopped broccoli and sprinkled over the top and served all over angel hair pasta. Very tasty and would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I changed nothing. It was AWESOME. This is truly a five star if ever there was a five star. Nothing hard to do, common ingredients, and it tasted liked it took all day to prepare. My wife really likes this one and asked that we have it again soon. Can't say enough good words. I read reviews, but, like so many others I felt I have to make it as described to know what if anything needed changing. NO Changes here. Thanks for the great recipe Mary Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Sanborn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
great recipie. an easy substitution for the wine is chicken broth because it really needs the liquid. for some additional flavor I add white pepper. I have made it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
A really tasty sauce over chicken served with egg noodles! I also cut this recipe down, used cream of mushroom soup, wine, sour cream, and real garlic. I browned the chicken in a splash of olive oil and garlic and onion before adding to the sauce in the baking pan. The sauce is very tasty, the entire dish came together quickly and easily. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Very good, quick way to use leftover chicken. For two people, I used 1 can of mushroom soup and about 1/2 cup sour cream (low fat), 1/3 cup wine. Sauteed green onions with the mushrooms, added the liquids and simmered for 10 minutes, then added chopped up leftover roast chicken; I also added some seasoning salt (Pappy's Choice). That added some punch. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is probably the third or fourth chicken/cream of whatever soup/mushroom dish I've made, and I would definitely say it's the best. The sour cream and wine (I just used a splash of wine, as it was cheap plonk) really gave it a pleasant richness. I didn't have much time in the kitchen so I browned bite-size pieces of chicken in olive oil, added the onion and mushrooms, and cooked til soft, then stirred in the sauce ingredients. Thanks for a quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Made this last night and it was great! I used a large can of Cream of Mushroom instead one of each (not too fond of the cream of chicken). I also served this over egg noodles. When doing the chicken, I was aware of folks saying the chicken was kinda bland or dry so I sprinked some Johnny's seasoning over the chicken. Chicken was still dry but had good flavoring. Once it was done I cut the chicken into a bunch of bite size pieces and mixed the noddles and chicken with the sauce. Next time I think I'll cut the pieces of chicken prior to cooking and mix them in with the sauce to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
My boyfriend and I loved this! It was quick and easy, but tasted rich, like it took a long time to make. I used light sour cream and soups, which turned out great. Also used full amount of wine. Served w/biscuits (very good over) and will make pasta with next time! Thanks for sharing this recipe, its even great as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This tasted a lot like cream of chicken helper. 1 used 1 cup of sour cream which was plenty and I replaced the mushrooms with fresh steamed broccoli. I cut the chicken in cubes and cooked on the stove top which took half the time and was juicy. Was quick and the kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States