Sour Cream Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is probably the third or fourth chicken/cream of whatever soup/mushroom dish I've made, and I would definitely say it's the best. The sour cream and wine (I just used a splash of wine, as it was cheap plonk) really gave it a pleasant richness. I didn't have much time in the kitchen so I browned bite-size pieces of chicken in olive oil, added the onion and mushrooms, and cooked til soft, then stirred in the sauce ingredients. Thanks for a quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was WONDERFUL!! It was so easy and tasted so good. I served it over rice next time I will serve over egg noodles. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I changed nothing. It was AWESOME. This is truly a five star if ever there was a five star. Nothing hard to do, common ingredients, and it tasted liked it took all day to prepare. My wife really likes this one and asked that we have it again soon. Can't say enough good words. I read reviews, but, like so many others I felt I have to make it as described to know what if anything needed changing. NO Changes here. Thanks for the great recipe Mary Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I though this was pretty good! The sauce was a little rich and I would probably cut back a little on the wine next time since that was the strongest flavor in the dish. I might even add some peas next time for color. All in all it was a fast simple meal that tasted pretty good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Awesome recipe. I divided it in half and didn't find the 1/4 cup wine too much at all. I used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and because I divided it in half I used one full can of mushroom soup instead of half each mushroom and chicken! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Tastes great. I have made it several times, each time trying something different. Less wine is definitely the key in making it a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Followed the recipe except for using fat free sour cream and one can low sodium soup--so easy to make, nice flavor, and my husband raved about it!! With regard to the abundance of sauce, I removed the chicken from the sauce when done, and dumped in some almost-cooked pasta, and it soaked that sauce right up to make a yummy accompaniment to the chicken. If I don't make this again I'll be in trouble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Very tasty. I followed the advice of others and laid off the wine a bit - did 2 cups. Would actually lay off it a bit more, perhaps 1.5 cups, with 1 cup chicken broth. I served over cavatini and my family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Made this last night and it was great! I used a large can of Cream of Mushroom instead one of each (not too fond of the cream of chicken). I also served this over egg noodles. When doing the chicken, I was aware of folks saying the chicken was kinda bland or dry so I sprinked some Johnny's seasoning over the chicken. Chicken was still dry but had good flavoring. Once it was done I cut the chicken into a bunch of bite size pieces and mixed the noddles and chicken with the sauce. Next time I think I'll cut the pieces of chicken prior to cooking and mix them in with the sauce to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
great recipie. an easy substitution for the wine is chicken broth because it really needs the liquid. for some additional flavor I add white pepper. I have made it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States