Sour Cream Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
WAYYY too.. tangy? I was really hoping it would be more like that brand of sauce called "Chicken Tonight". However, my husband kinda liked it. But, probably won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Would be a great crock pot dish. Chicken was bland. Sauce was semi tasty. I suggest sauté mushrooms and onions and use fresh garlic in lieu of garlic powder. Remove garlic onions and mushrooms and set aside. Brown chicken in a dash of olive oil. After chicken is browned add the vegetables back in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My family loved it! I made the recipe exactly as is and served with spaghetti. You definitely need some pasta because it's a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very nice :) I substituted shallots for the onions and a grated clove of garlic for the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Way too much sauce! Also, because you put the chicken on top, it ends up having no flavoring. If I make this again, I will saute the onions and mushroom; salt, pepper, and garlic powder the chicken and brown it before putting it in the sauce. More mushrooms, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
The chicken was moist and tender but lacked flavor in a big way. And the wine flavor was way too much for our taste. We ate it but would not do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
The only change I made to the recipe was to use light sour cream. It was fair and on the bland side. I think 2 cups of sour cream might be a bit much. I was hoping for more of a stroganoff flavor. While everyone in the family ate the dish, most were in agreement that it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
the wine taste was very strong... and a little too much sour cream for my liking! my boyfriend and i both agreed we wouldn't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My kids loved it! And they are picky! Since they do not like mushrooms I used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup. I also did not use the chopped onion. It does make a ton of sauce so you can either 1/2 it or just use the extra another day. I put it over egg noodles and brown rice, both were good. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This dish was simple to prepare and using wine added depth and interest to the sauce. Definitely serve with something green!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States