Sour Cream Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I was prepared to rate these a '3' but I had to consider those that might be looking for low or no fat sweets, so taking that into consideration I rate a '4'. I didn't prepare these lofat...just looking for a way to get rid of some sour cream(full fat). Also need to use up some applesauce. They did bake up nicely...6 Texas size muffins but for 35 minutes in my oven. I used a mixture of some blueberries and a banana. I tasted the batter but it still needed something so added some cinnamon to batter and a cinnamon sugar topping; which didn't make them sink. As an afterthought, some vanilla would have been good. It can be tinkered with with spices if trying to make a lofat muffin, but if 'going for the gusto'...there are better muffin recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I made mini muffins with this recipe and they were delicious. I also added a tspn of vanilla and didn't use the fruit. Light, airy and yummy. This recipe would probably make a great light sponge cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
I tried this recipe with apples and strawberries, the muffins did not cook in alloted time and sank in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
For a healthy version of a muffin, this recipe is pretty great! I needed to use up a very ripe mango so I added approximately 1/3 cup of it diced. Please be aware that I halved the recipe. Most baked goods require some extract so I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I also added 1 1/2 teaspoons of allspice and cinnamon. The texture resembled more of a cake than muffin, but it was delicious either way. For those whose fruit sunk to the bottom. Toss the blueberries (or any fruit you choose) in flour prior to folding into batter. I will be making these again when I finally have blueberries on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
the first time i made these they flopped! they were gooey inside even after baking them for about 30 min. then when i reread the recipe i realized i used baking powder instead of baking soda... whoops! so i made them a second time with baking soda and they got great.i also used craisins instead of blueberries! Wonderful... thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These were ok... I used homemade applesauce (the slow cooked one from this site) and frozen blueberries. Did everything as directed but kinda ended up with a mess- they fall apart in the middle and are stuck to the paper! I might try these again with some changes but as is this recipe wasn't spectacular, just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I wish I would have read all the reviews before I made these muffins. After 20 minutes of baking we tried one and it was not cooked in the middle and my oven tends to be hot.....I have now put them back in the oven and I guess I will see how they turn out.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
For a low fat muffin, this one is good. If you are fine with fat and want a delicious muffin with great texture, here are my changes: -Replace apple sauce with oil -Replace blueberries with apples -Add 2 tsp Apple Pie spice -I used full fat Sour Cream because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I loved this recipe! I tweaked it a bit though.. Instead of applesauce I used honey. Instead of white sugar I used brown. Instead of regular flour I used half wheat and half flax meal. Also, i used Greek yogurt in place of sour cream. I made it eve healthier than the already low fat recipe. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very forgiving recipe. I doubled it but kept the sugar at 3/4 cup and increased the amount of blueberries. I also used eggbeaters instead of eggs and added vanilla and cinnamon. I later remembered that I usually add a pinch of salt when baking but didn't miss it at all. Moist and yummy. Will use always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States