Sour Cream Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by greenbabby
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but I made a few changes based on other reviews. I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar, and added 1/4 teaspoon both cinnamon and nutmeg as well as 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. The only problem I had was they stuck to the paper liners and I think I used too many blueberries(1 1/3 cups because thats what I had there was more blueberry then muffin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I should have floured my berries because they sank to the bottom. the cook time on this is on the low side too. my oven is usually spot on and it tokk 21 min. But for a no fat, low sodium recipe, these have a great texture. My kids liked them too. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
The consistency of this muffin was great. I loved it. I used some blackberries because I didn't have enough blueberries and it came out yummy. To make it healthy for my boyfriend I also added flax seed. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the top too. Not too sweet but I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I thought the muffins were delicious and a great way to grab breakfast and go...unfortunately the kids were not so keen. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
the first time i made these they flopped! they were gooey inside even after baking them for about 30 min. then when i reread the recipe i realized i used baking powder instead of baking soda... whoops! so i made them a second time with baking soda and they got great.i also used craisins instead of blueberries! Wonderful... thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I was prepared to rate these a '3' but I had to consider those that might be looking for low or no fat sweets, so taking that into consideration I rate a '4'. I didn't prepare these lofat...just looking for a way to get rid of some sour cream(full fat). Also need to use up some applesauce. They did bake up nicely...6 Texas size muffins but for 35 minutes in my oven. I used a mixture of some blueberries and a banana. I tasted the batter but it still needed something so added some cinnamon to batter and a cinnamon sugar topping; which didn't make them sink. As an afterthought, some vanilla would have been good. It can be tinkered with with spices if trying to make a lofat muffin, but if 'going for the gusto'...there are better muffin recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I used fresh strawberries since they are in season. This is a tasty low fat treat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali_B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Even after baking for 25 minutes they were not done. I had to take them out at that point because the tops were starting to burn, then they sank, and the bottons still had raw dough. Sounded great but just didn't cook well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2001
I tried this recipe with apples and strawberries, the muffins did not cook in alloted time and sank in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I made mini muffins with this recipe and they were delicious. I also added a tspn of vanilla and didn't use the fruit. Light, airy and yummy. This recipe would probably make a great light sponge cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States