Sour Cream Mocha Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Siri
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Thank you for the recipe, my family and friends love this cake. I followed the recipe exactly the first time I bake this cake after that I modify the recipe just a little bit to my taste. I love coffee, so I add another tablespoon of instant coffee. My husband and my mom are diabetics so, for the 2 cup of white sugar called for in the recipe, I mixed 1/2 cup raw sugar, 24 packets of Splendar, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also add another ¼ cup of sour cream to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I tried making cupcakes out of this recipe and followed the recipe but they did not come out at all! they went all over the sides of the pan and to the bottom of the oven. Not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It was pretty good. I made it using applesauce instead of oil and with Hersey's syrup instead of chocolate chips ( I didn't have choc chips on hand). I think it might nudge up to a five with the choc chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rehovot, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I got mixed reviews on this one. I followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I thought it was very bland. My guest thought it was good, but, I think they were being nice. I was expected it to be richer and sweeter. Sorry to say, I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I made this for my class today and they LOVED it! Very moist. yummy! I used a strong cup of my favorite coffee in place of the water/instant coffee. I didn't mix the ingredients in the order of the recipe. I combined the chocolate, sour cream, oil and sugar. Then I combined the dry ingredients. I alternated adding the dry and hot coffee to the chocolate mix. well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I thought this dessert was fantastic, and so easy to make. I didn't change a thing on this receipe and it came out great. I brought it to a party and every went crazy for it. Would definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I accidentally melted both cups of chocolate chips and when I realized my mistake, decided to go ahead with the recipe. Came out like mocha brownies which were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I don't know what I did wrong, but there's a hard, smaller rectangle type shape in the center of the cake. It's very hard in this area. This appeared after I baked it. I followed the recipe to a "T", so I don't understand what happened. I just didn't add the nuts. The hardness does not go all the way to the bottom of the cake, just about a 1/2" down. It also appears to be sinking in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I made this cake several times for potlucks and it always got rave reviews! Even without the nuts, it is definitely a winning recipe. The second time I increased the chocolate a bit, it made it just that much more chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kibbutz Sde Boker, Mehoz Hadarom, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Yummy! Very moist and fudgy. All my friends loved them and asked me for the recipe. I have made a few times and baked them into cup cakes. Batter was a bit thin so I added 1/4 cup of flour and 1 extra tablespoon of instant coffee for more coffee flavour. Did not have sour cream at one time so I substituted with plain yoghurt and it turned out good. Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States