Sour Cream Mocha Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I made this for my class today and they LOVED it! Very moist. yummy! I used a strong cup of my favorite coffee in place of the water/instant coffee. I didn't mix the ingredients in the order of the recipe. I combined the chocolate, sour cream, oil and sugar. Then I combined the dry ingredients. I alternated adding the dry and hot coffee to the chocolate mix. well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This cake is moist, fudgey. I was worried about how thin the batter looked when I put it in the baking pan, but don't worry! It came out great! I didn't use any frosting, and it was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Yummy! Very moist and fudgy. All my friends loved them and asked me for the recipe. I have made a few times and baked them into cup cakes. Batter was a bit thin so I added 1/4 cup of flour and 1 extra tablespoon of instant coffee for more coffee flavour. Did not have sour cream at one time so I substituted with plain yoghurt and it turned out good. Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I made this cake several times for potlucks and it always got rave reviews! Even without the nuts, it is definitely a winning recipe. The second time I increased the chocolate a bit, it made it just that much more chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kibbutz Sde Boker, Mehoz Hadarom, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I thought this dessert was fantastic, and so easy to make. I didn't change a thing on this receipe and it came out great. I brought it to a party and every went crazy for it. Would definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Siri
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Thank you for the recipe, my family and friends love this cake. I followed the recipe exactly the first time I bake this cake after that I modify the recipe just a little bit to my taste. I love coffee, so I add another tablespoon of instant coffee. My husband and my mom are diabetics so, for the 2 cup of white sugar called for in the recipe, I mixed 1/2 cup raw sugar, 24 packets of Splendar, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also add another ¼ cup of sour cream to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I accidentally melted both cups of chocolate chips and when I realized my mistake, decided to go ahead with the recipe. Came out like mocha brownies which were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It was pretty good. I made it using applesauce instead of oil and with Hersey's syrup instead of chocolate chips ( I didn't have choc chips on hand). I think it might nudge up to a five with the choc chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rehovot, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made this cake using vanilla yogurt instead of the sour cream as that is what I had on hand and it worked out quite well. The finished cake has more of a "fudgy" texture than a traditional cake. Prior to baking, the batter is very thin so I took another reviewer's comment to heart about the remaining chips and nuts sinking to the bottom of the pan. So, I baked the cake without them. . . when the cake was done, I sprinkled the remaining chips on it and returned it to the oven for one minute. Then, I spread the melted chips using a spatula and sprinkled nuts on top. That worked well. I would make this again. I've only rated it four out of five stars because although we liked it, I have other chocolate cake recipes we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I got mixed reviews on this one. I followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I thought it was very bland. My guest thought it was good, but, I think they were being nice. I was expected it to be richer and sweeter. Sorry to say, I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States