Sour Cream Marinated Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Before you take this review and run, I'd like to state that I didn't follow this recipe per say... I'm a college student so I never have everything the recipe calls for... so here is what I used: Chicken breasts, red wine vinegar, sour cream, salt, pepper, mozzarella cheese. Combined wine vinegar, sour cream, salt, pepper and chicken in a ziploc bag, mixed well and then placed in fridge for an hour. Placed in pan, baked at 350 for 25 min. (2 pieces) 10 min before completion, added remaining sauce, put a slice of fresh tomato and mozzarella cheese on top and baked remaining time. Whala!! It turned out great. The wine was not strong, just enough that you could taste it. The tomato I feel complimented the sour cream and wine wonderfully and added a nice look to the meal. I rate this 5 ***** because it led me to make something amazing! Please note, that I only used this as a base for something else. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was not good at all. I got the sugar loaded BBQ sauce out to cover the vinegar taste of this chicken. I did use the vinegar but I don't think I want to try this again even leaving the vinegar out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runtex2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
The recipe in and of itself is not good, but omit the vinegar completely and you have a winner! I made this chicken last night, and before I added the vinegar to the marinade I tasted (hint hint) what I was mixing. Finding it very tasty, I left it at that. The vinegar would've ruined the whole thing. So, 5 stars for the recipe without the vinegar, 2 stars for what could have happened if I didn't know what I was doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Huh...Maybe if you REALLY like wine vinegar and you were looking for a vinegar-marinated chicken recipe this would be okay. I used a dijon mustard and pounded the chicken breasts before marinating overnight. Then I baked them in the marinade as another reviewer suggested, but the marinade liquified and managed to poach my chicken breasts. There wasn't any "sauce" to serve with the perogies I made with it, just a vile looking liquid. The hubby said it was not too bad and we convinced our toddler to eat it by promising brownies but it was rather discouraging. I'm usually a good cook and I did everything correctly so I guess the best I can say is, if you are especially fond of vinegar, have at. I would rate this lower based on flavor alone but I did cook the marinade with the chicken so I'll leave it at a two in good faith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I did not care for this recipe. It was just OK. There was too much of a mustard taste and I could hardly tell that it had been marinated in sour cream at all. It just tasted like mustard and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I used dijon mustard instead of yellow prepared mustard and baked it in the oven. It is a nice change with a unique taste...my husband said it tastes like something you would order in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
We BBQed this one and the chicken was very juicy! I loved the sour cream marinade. We didn't put cheese on top and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
I did not like this recipe. I love sour cream but I wasn't pleased with the taste. I followed the recipe to the letter. I think the wine vinegar was a turn off for me. Maybe others will successd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
I am not the best cook and did make some minor substitutions, BUT did not enjoy this recipe. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
Fantastically tender chicken! Made it for guests this weekend; after marinating in the fridge overnight, I simply cooked it in the marinade (covered) in the oven and served it all as chicken and sauce over wide noodles. Thanks! Loren Martin, Oklahoma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States