Sour Cream Lemon Pound Cake with Cherry Compote Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I published this recipe - I prefer to use loaf pans, I have actually never done this in a bundt pan. The cherry compote takes this already amazing pound cake over the top! I store the compote separately and let it cool slightly before I serve. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mynarich Vanderlaan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I was so looking forward to this cake. The picture looks so good,. I went out and bought all the ingredients for a double recipe. I don't know what I did wrong. The flavor is good, but the texture is not. It's like a biscuit! I'm sorry, but I'm not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Yummy! Easy to make. I served with sweetened strawberries instead of making the compote. The cake is very dense, like a pound cake should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Delicious!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this last night, adding a little extra lemon everything and a little less flour mixture with 4 tbsp of milk and 4 tsp of lemon pudding mix. THE BEST POUND CAKE I HAVE EVER EATEN. Springy and lemony with the perfect texture. I will definitely be making this again and again. I made mine it two loaf pans and it took A LOT longer to cook than the time on here but the recipe is delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosepine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I love this cake. I've made it several times and it has always turned out great - quite moist and dense. I make mine like a sheet cake in a swiss roll tin because I don't have a bundt tin. It's a relatively shallow dish so I keep a close eye on the cooking time because it's cooks more quickly. Definitely a favourite in our house and I've been asked for the recipe by friends who've tasted it. I've never made the compote so can't say what that's like but for a party I drizzled melted chocolate over the cake before I cut it up into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
consistency did not work, had to add way more sour cream to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Disappointing. The pound cake was 1/2 the size I expected. The cherry compote was good. I might make the cherry compote again but with a proven pound cake recipe I usually use. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This looks terrific. Since it is a lemon cake, I think it would be great with blueberry sauce. For pishposh12, this is a pound cake so the consistency will be denser than a quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States