Sour Cream Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My guests really enjoyed this. They said it had just the right touch of sour and sweet (I upped the lemon peel to two lemons and the juice to 1/2 a cup and they said it was definitely not too lemony). If I make this again I will use the corn starch mentioned by the submitter because I could taste the flour in the final product (may not be a problem for most because my guests didn't notice...must be the curse of my overactive taste buds!). Make sure you cook the custard long enough (custards take patience!) It filled the pie shell perfectly and set up well. The pie was just sour enough that the whipped cream topping was a great contrast. For those lemon lovers out there: professional chefs have taught me to always use fresh lemon juice because the flavor mellows quickly after the fruit is squeezed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I tried it and I loved it! What a creamy, sweet, lemon tangy dessert, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Never have anything but a clean plate when I make this recipe. Sometimes I use cornflour (cornstartch) instead of flour, the results are very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great Pie! I added extra zest and juice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Perfect as is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I was really surprised that this turned out so well the first time I tried it (I'm not the best baker/cook in the world), but the texture and taste were beautiful! It did not curdle into scrambled eggs (big hooray there) and two things that must be done: when it call for low heat, it must be low heat and 'add in gradually' is so true it hurts. Recipe is good as it stands. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This dessert is delicious. The flour, sugar milk mixture was very thick before I coddled the egg yolks in, but the end result had wonderful flavour. The only change I made was to use natural yogurt instead of sour cream as that was what I had on hand. And a graham crust, for perference. Of course you could add more lemon and zest to suit your taste. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
A very good pie-sweet and lemony, but light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Delicious, but so mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
It's a delicious balance between sweet, sour, and creamy. And easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States