Sour Cream Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Nothing better to do with your fresh lemons! I loved this recipe even without the whipping cream on top! Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made the following changes with wonderful results: no flour, but substituted 3 1/2 Tbsp. corn starch; 1/2 cup lemon juice; 1 Tbsp. lemon zest; 1 cup sour cream; 1 cup milk. I combined the milk, lemon juice and egg yolks in separate bowl. I placed the sugar, corn starch, salt and zest in double boiler and then added the milk mixture. Over heat, stir well until thickened; add butter and allow to cool to room temperature. Fold/stir in the sour cream and place in a pre-baked, cooled pie shell. You may top with whipped cream and lemon curls if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buchanan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this exactly as written, but after tasting I ended up throwing in about double the lemon zest before I poured it into the crust. It tastes wonderful but doesn't hold it's shape well, so I would be hesitant to serve it to guests because it would be a sloppy mess. But if you don't care what it looks like once it's plated it's definitely a keeper. I went back for more after my first piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe received rave reviews from those whose "favorite" pie is Lemon Sour Cream from a local bakery. I doubled the lemon and sour cream as previous reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe was a big hit with me and my family!! The sour cream adds a nice touch and variation to the flavor. I will definitely make it again and plan to double the ingredients for a much bigger pie to serve. Yum...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was great! Softer than what I'm used to, but I loved it and so did my roommates. Would probably add more lemon next time, but that's just because I can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Prepared exactly as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good when you increase lemon and decrease milk as other reviewers suggested. Need food coloring if you want a yellow color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by massageldy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I chose to also follow this recipe as written without changes. An excellent choice! This recipe resulted in a creamy, perfectly balanced rich custard pie. It turned out beautiful, I did not have any problems with weepiness, separation or curdling. This will continue to grace my home for any occasion. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oregonmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this pie twice following the revisions. I found that the 1 cup of sour cream was overpowering. Otherwise, wonderful recipe. My husband even enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States