Sour Cream Gooseberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I added an extra 1/2 c. of gooseberries for more flavor. This is a great pie and the sour cream mixture keeps it from being so tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glencoe, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagle Bend, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I love making pies, and this was a great way to use my gooseberries. I took one to my mom, who said it was the best pie she'd ever tasted! I will cook a bit longer next time, though - we're at 4500 ft., so I should have made that allowance anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
What a winner this recipe is. Will go into the 'again and again' box. This is the first year the gooseberry bushes have produced in abundance and all the neighbours have their share and also this recipe so the place is awash with gooseberry pies. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Very good...like it with more berries though so will try with 2 cups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I didn't care for the taste but my husband loved it so I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kingofcoins
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
My first home grown gooseberry pie, and it was great. I upped the berries to 2 cups. If you like the tartness and your berries are on the ripe side, I recommend upping the berries to more like 2 1/2 cups, and use a a full size 9 inch pan. Also you might crush about one cup of them before sugaring to keep so many from floating on top of the sour cream..mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I must admit, I was quite skeptical when I prepared the sour cream filling and it was quite runny. However, everything solidified beautifully and it was quite tasty - I have quite the sweet tooth, so it's perfect for me, but if you're not a big fan of sugar then I would suggest lessening the amount of sugar by a bit. Also, I found that it needs many more gooseberries (I upped it to 1 1/2 cups and it still wasn't enough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Very good pie! I used 2 cups of gooseberries because that was what I had, and let's face it, what was I going to do with extra gooseberries? So it was a little more tart than it would have otherwise been, but it was perfect for us. Does anyone know why the berries in the picture are purple? All the gooseberries I've ever seen have been green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I made the pie following the recipe exactly (except for a pinch of nutmeg in the filling). I had never made anything using gooseberries before. My significant other (who is also a professionally trained chef) said it was delicious and perfect. Too good to share with his best friend - who I usually share my baked goods with. Thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
If you like a tart pie, this is a good gooseberry pie. I used two cups of berries, but that wasn't enough. I might mash some of them to better distribute the tartness and use a little less sour cream. Anyway, this pie was pretty tasty but you have to like a very tart pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States