Sour Cream Gooseberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
great recipe thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Excellent balance of sweet and tart. The texture was nice as well, not too gooey and not too dry. I agree with the other reviewers about adding more gooseberries to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by songcatcher101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
My wife and I made this pie last night and was able to sample it today. Fantastic!! As recommended by another member, we upped the amount of gooseberries to 2 cups, and the sugar to 1 1/4 cup. We have the pink variety of gooseberry purchased from one of the catalogs and when ripe, they have a nice sweet/tart flavor. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made this recipe yesterday for my family and it was a huge hit! One person even said it was the best use of gooseberries they'd ever seen. I used 2 cups of gooseberries and added a little under 1/4 C extra sugar to account for that. I also used a pate brisee recipe from Martha Stewart for the crust, and I used low-fat sour cream in the filling. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
If you like a tart pie, this is a good gooseberry pie. I used two cups of berries, but that wasn't enough. I might mash some of them to better distribute the tartness and use a little less sour cream. Anyway, this pie was pretty tasty but you have to like a very tart pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I made the pie following the recipe exactly (except for a pinch of nutmeg in the filling). I had never made anything using gooseberries before. My significant other (who is also a professionally trained chef) said it was delicious and perfect. Too good to share with his best friend - who I usually share my baked goods with. Thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Very good pie! I used 2 cups of gooseberries because that was what I had, and let's face it, what was I going to do with extra gooseberries? So it was a little more tart than it would have otherwise been, but it was perfect for us. Does anyone know why the berries in the picture are purple? All the gooseberries I've ever seen have been green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I must admit, I was quite skeptical when I prepared the sour cream filling and it was quite runny. However, everything solidified beautifully and it was quite tasty - I have quite the sweet tooth, so it's perfect for me, but if you're not a big fan of sugar then I would suggest lessening the amount of sugar by a bit. Also, I found that it needs many more gooseberries (I upped it to 1 1/2 cups and it still wasn't enough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kingofcoins
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
My first home grown gooseberry pie, and it was great. I upped the berries to 2 cups. If you like the tartness and your berries are on the ripe side, I recommend upping the berries to more like 2 1/2 cups, and use a a full size 9 inch pan. Also you might crush about one cup of them before sugaring to keep so many from floating on top of the sour cream..mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I didn't care for the taste but my husband loved it so I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States