Sour Cream Gooseberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was a good pie but the sour cream just didn't seem right in it. I'm sure it's excellent for those who are used to sour cream pies but this just wasn't the pie for me. I used about 2 1/2 cups of berries like other reviewers had suggested and crushed about 1/2 of the berries before adding the sugar. I think this helped mix the flavors together but overall I wasn't a big fan of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Great recipe! This is the 1st year that my gooseberry bush produced and it was barely 1-1/4 cups. I changed this: I mixed the berries, sugar and a couple teaspoons of water in a pan and simmered for a few minutes, cooled for a bit, and then mixed with the sour cream mixture. I used a store bought graham cracker crust and baked for 55 minutes as the recipe directed. It wasn't as pretty as a doublecrust but after it was chilled, the flavor was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Oh my gosh....the best pie EVER! Just gotta find a way to get gooseberries more often! ...and I don't even LIKE gooseberries! It was extremely easy to make and presents a pretty pie. I have made quite a few pies in my life...but this one takes the cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Excellent. I had a quart of gooseberries and doubled the recipe and it worked out great. I added a little nutmeg to the sour cream and I liked the addition. Also, this pie really does need to be a double crust pie, because it is one UGLY pie without a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My mother in law even liked this recipe and she doesn't like Gooseberry pie even though her mother often made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laguapagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by almondjoy2807
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I wasn't as impressed with this as I had hoped. With the tart berries, I don't think sour cream was the best pairing - made it too bitter, in my opinion. And the texture of the filling wasn't that great. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't gross, I just didn't like it as much as I had hoped to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I thought it was an excellent, mildly sour fruit pie, but my husband disagreed. I'll make it for parties in the future so I don't have to eat the whole pie myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was very good, but I, too upped the gooseberries to 2-3 cups. I liked the tart taste, but you may want to add more sugar if you increase the gooseberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I love gooseberry pie. My mom had looked for gooseberry pre-made pie filling for a year before her death. So I made this pie to please my father and of course myself. I was a little afraid of the Sour Cream, but it was GREAT. Go ahead and try it, you will be rewarded with great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Outstanding! Not too sweet with a lovely custard filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollowayb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States