Sour Cream Gooseberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kimusk
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
My family really liked it! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe last summer with my home-grown gooseberries that were nice and ripe and purple. I put 2.5 cups of berries and cut the sugar by 1/4 cup. It was one of the most delicious pies I've ever tasted. A hit at a family barbecue and not a crumb left. If you have the time, a home-made crust makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent pie, but remember to glaze it. I had never made a pie before and this came out wonderful, albeit a bit pale from not glazing the crust. I made it using the recipe called "Pastry for Double-Crust Pie" Tart, sweet, tangy and creamy all in one. Nice, flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I agree with the other reviewers who suggest using 2C of gooseberries and lessening the sugar to about 3/4C. With that slight alteration, this is as delicious a tart pie as you'll ever eat! I made two of them this summer and they were both gone in a flash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Padawan60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Pretty good. I got some gooseberries at the farmers market and decided to try this. My husband finished it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
What a great pie! The sour cream gives the pie a custard taste that goes well with the tart gooseberries. Ripe gooseberries are purple and make a beautiful pie. It is hard to get the ripe berries before the birds, but so worth the effort of picking and stemming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This recipe is much better than the traditional gooseberry pie recipe because the gooseberries are not overpowering, but they definitely have a presence. I'm sure it's good if you follow the recipe exactly. However, I followed others' advice and increased the berries to 2 cups, mashing half, and increased the sugar by another quarter cup. I've made it that way three different times and everyone has raved about it. I think the next time I make this recipe I will try adding cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I thought that this would be great, based on the other reviews, but this pie was not good. The gooseberry flavor did NOT mesh with the sour cream mixture AT ALL. I would say blueberries or raspberries would be way better. Perhaps this is because I had green gooseberries, and the pictures indicate that other users used red(?) gooseberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was fun to make. The recipe itself is easy, but depending on the gooseberries the prep time can be very long...removing all the blossom ends from those tiny little berries was tedious. I used wild Colorado gooseberries which were very small. This recipe would be better with larger gooseberries like I used to see for sale in Midwest grocery stores. My gooseberries were neither sweet nor tart (kind of bland) and I thought the sugar level was about right. I'd never had a sour cream pie before, and this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Photo by emholbert
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was great! I made it yesterday and everyone loved it. It's just about gone! The pie has a nice tart, but strangely aromatic taste. It's something I've never tasted before and I loved it. I threw a little allspice in there too and I used local eggs and the yolk is so much more yellow, and it gave the pie a kind of bright custard look. I'm definitely going to make this again with every gooseberry harvest!! I attached a picture if you want to see what it looked like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States