Sour Cream Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The recipe is soooooooo easy and you don't need anything out of the ordinary. The sour cream gives it a little tang~ I get compliments every time I make it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe when you have no heavy whipping cream on hand! I also used white chocolate chips and it tasted wonderful. I put it on top of a chocolate bunt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
5 stars as a chocolate cheesecake topping. I agree that the sour cream could be tasted, but it was a great compliment to the cheesecake! It was very easy to make in the microwave. I just stirred every 10 seconds until it was perfectly smooth. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Awesome!!!!!! I had no issues whatsoever with the sour cream overpowering the chocolate. It must be a matter of personal taste. I found this ganache great tasting and super easy to make, with things you are more likely to have in your pantry/fridge. Thank you for posting such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made this because I had made it before years ago to put on cheesecake. So lovely! It has a shine to it that is so pretty. I think you should add the sour cream in and taste as you go so that you do not get the sour taste you do not like. That is different for everyone so it is a good excuse to sample as you are adding. Yum! Anyway, I loved this on Black Magic Cake from this site. I also added some peppermint extract to make a mint chocolate cake. Super YUM! Here's to death by chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I turned to this recipe when I needed to make a ganache & didn't have any cream. It does have a "sour cream", less sweet taste to it. But it's actually pretty nice! and if you pair it with a sweet chocolate cake, you're good to go! This pipes well. If you want it runny again, just chuck it into the microwave for about 20 seconds. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
We really like the slightly sour flavor the sour cream gives. I sometimes add a little Triple-Sec or other fruity liquoer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Well, it doesnt taste like ganache. The sour cream is quite potent. But I think this tastes pretty good. It seems to enhance the chocolate flavor. This was not very sweet so I would recommend using milk chocolate if you like it sweet. I think it might help with the sour cream flavor too. I also used fat free sour cream. It hardened up just fine. Its a recipe in its own league but tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I didn't really care for this. I love bitter chocolate and love sour cream in desserts, but this didn't go well together. I also thought the strong flavor took away from the cake I drizzled it on. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States