Sour Cream Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for classic ganache to top a chocolate cheesecake with and came across this recipe. Since sweetened sour cream is a classic plain cheescake topping I gave this one a try for my chocolate cheesecake. It was the PERFECT compliment to the rich cheesecake. Dense but not too heavy and sweet but refreshing in compliment to the intense chocolate of the cheesecake. EXCELLENT - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
used white chocolate instead and turned out great! i let it cool for a bit and used it for a filling for a carrot cake and then topped off the cake with a cream cheese icing. absolutely fabulous! definitely will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Not at all what I had hoped for. The sour cream totally overpowerd the chocolate to the point that you almost couldn't taste it. I didn't even use this, I was so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I am so pleased with how this turned out! I had an entire container of sour cream that was about to reach its expiration date and I decided this ganache would make a great topping for gingerbread. I substituted white chocolate chips for the regular chocolate. It tastes just like the topping found on carrot cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I turned to this recipe when I needed to make a ganache & didn't have any cream. It does have a "sour cream", less sweet taste to it. But it's actually pretty nice! and if you pair it with a sweet chocolate cake, you're good to go! This pipes well. If you want it runny again, just chuck it into the microwave for about 20 seconds. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I agree with a previous reviewer that the sour cream is overwhelming. I added sugar to it and that improved it, but it was still too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I tried this last week and it was just wonderful. I melted the chocolate chips in the microwave though. I turned on great. Thanks for the recipe KatieMac!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Karma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Awesome!!!!!! I had no issues whatsoever with the sour cream overpowering the chocolate. It must be a matter of personal taste. I found this ganache great tasting and super easy to make, with things you are more likely to have in your pantry/fridge. Thank you for posting such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
omg this is literally the bomb.com i am, going to make this as soon as i get home thank you for posting this i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States