Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This is delicious when paired with Clone of a Cinnabon from this site. Better than a cream cheese frosting for cinnamon rolls, and fat-free sour cream works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Delicious! Sweet and smooth with a hint of a lemony zing. I used it on an orange/lemon supreme layered cake. It was SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is like a glaze; I used it on allrecipes' Banana Cake VII. Great substitute for regular frosting in a pinch! This would be great to glaze a bundt cake with holes poked in the bottom and poured over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
It was very nice tasting and great alternative to cream cheese. I would say that it is more like a glaze than an icing. I used to to glaze a sour cream pound cake and it really added great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
tHIS FROSTING OR "GLAZE IS amazing!! I used it on a pinapple carrot cake and used pinapplw juice instead of lemon juice, and it was one of the best frostings I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I loved this frosting. I made a wild cherry sheet cake and made this frosting for it. I put a couple drops of red food coloring in it to tint it pink (my daughters favorite color) and it went great with this cake. It is a sweet frosting with a bit of a thinner consistancy but it sets up really well in the fridge. I made this because I was out of cream cheese and was pleasantly surprised. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Wow! I wasn't at all sure about this, but like the previous review, I was out of cream cheese, so I made this for my cinnamon rolls...I think I might actually like this even better than cream cheese frosting! A little tangy, just enough to offset the sweet. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This is a great alternative to cream cheese frosting and has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSWEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I made this for some valentine's day cookies I made, because I didn't have any cream cheese in the fridge, but had lots of sour cream. I added red food coloring to make it a nice pink color. It was delicious! It made a lot, so, to use up the extra I made cinnamon rolls. I enjoyed it even more on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I wasn't to happy with not having frosting on hand and quickly looked this recipe up. I just happened to have sour cream and made this frosting. I was happy I did. Yum! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States