Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I was searching the internet for a good recipe and I found it here today! I needed something different for my poppy seed cake and decided to try this sour cream frosting and it was just delicious. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawi, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This is the best frosting Ive ever tasted. I like it better than cream cheese frosting and I will definetely make this again. Some people said this is more like a sauce than a frosing, but mine was more like frosting, so I don't know what they did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I thought this was perfect. I didn't think it was too thin, like other reviewers commented. The flavor was great. It was reminiscent of cream cheese frosting. Very good and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I find this recipe very versatile since I can change it from a dipping sauce perfect for fruit to a frosting for my scones and tea breads. No alterations to the ingredients list or directions needed. Some Troubleshooting Tips: Reading over reviews, I noticed some people had thick, spreadable frosting, while others had something runnier, like a sauce or dip. It could be the sour cream. The moisture content of your sour cream is going to determine your results, with a thick, stick-to-the-spoon sour cream producing a thicker frosting, and a goopy, watery sour cream producing a dipping sauce. By some fluke, an "old fashioned" local brand went on sale, and for the first time I encountered a sour cream that didn't have a layer of water sitting on top. It was as thick as cream cheese, and I originally worried something was wrong with it. Used it to make scones. Used it for this recipe. It has become a staple in my fridge. If I need to, I can always add milk or water to change the consistency. Also, allow the butter to come to room temperature. From experience, this could take a few hours. Heating or microwaving your butter to soften it will produce something closer to an icing, not a frosting. If you are baking or cooking, keep it away from heat, since you need your butter softened, not melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I made this for some valentine's day cookies I made, because I didn't have any cream cheese in the fridge, but had lots of sour cream. I added red food coloring to make it a nice pink color. It was delicious! It made a lot, so, to use up the extra I made cinnamon rolls. I enjoyed it even more on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was delicious! I put it over cupcakes, and couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is extremely tasty. A good alternative to cream cheese frosting. Like others said this is more of a glaze that's why I gave it a 4. It's very thin but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was very yummy frosting. I am not a fan of vanilla extract so I cut it out and added more lemon juice....soooo good. This did not come out like a glaze for me so I used it on allrecipies Soft Sugar Cookies IV. Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I loved this frosting. I made a wild cherry sheet cake and made this frosting for it. I put a couple drops of red food coloring in it to tint it pink (my daughters favorite color) and it went great with this cake. It is a sweet frosting with a bit of a thinner consistancy but it sets up really well in the fridge. I made this because I was out of cream cheese and was pleasantly surprised. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is great!! Mine came out like a frosting as well instead of thin. I would say to make sure the butter is softened NOT melted like many people tend to do. Also gradually add the lemon juice and vanilla extract so as not to make it soupy. I love this recipe and I will put it to use on all of my pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Detroitsista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States