Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is extremely tasty. A good alternative to cream cheese frosting. Like others said this is more of a glaze that's why I gave it a 4. It's very thin but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Delicious on chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Roe Nieto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Mostly "powder sugar-y" in flavor, but kind of nice with the sour cream tang in the background. Next time I'll decrease the powdered sugar a bit. Also, I think it would best be described as a glaze or thick sauce rather than a frosting. The author of this recipe said it went well with all types of pound cake (poured over a slice with fruit perhaps).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This is the best frosting Ive ever tasted. I like it better than cream cheese frosting and I will definetely make this again. Some people said this is more like a sauce than a frosing, but mine was more like frosting, so I don't know what they did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was delicious! I put it over cupcakes, and couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I was searching the internet for a good recipe and I found it here today! I needed something different for my poppy seed cake and decided to try this sour cream frosting and it was just delicious. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawi, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I was disappointed with this recipe and I will not do it or recommend it for cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was awesome. It had a slight tang that goes really well with a super sweet dessert. It was great. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This is a good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This is pretty tasty, but quite runny. More like a glaze, as someone mentioned before but the taste is really nice when it sticks to the cake. I ended up adding cornstarch to try to thick it a bit, then resorted to refrigerating it, spreading it, and putting it back in the fridge before it could drip again. It leaves a very sweet aftertaste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States