Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
More of an icing than a frosting. It's very tasty, but it's not very thick. It's probably best for cupcakes and such as opposed to, say, a birthday cake. But it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
this frosting is amazing. it is thinner than regular frosting, but thicker than a glaze. its perfect for pound cakes and bunt cakes. i actually used it on the black magic cake from this site. i made 2 9" cakes and poured it in the middle and on top. it oozed out and over the edges to look so pretty. if u want to thicken it up a bit before frosting just pop it in the fridge for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was a very tasty and easy frosting. It mixed up really well and was easy to spread. It was a soft frosting, but still spreadable. I made it one evening and used it the next morning on top of cinnamon rolls. Very good combination. I had some left over and later used it on a chocolate cake. It was okay on the cake, better on the cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shurkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I used this frosting for Pineapple cake and it was delicious. It's super sweet, which was good because I kept the cake not so sweet. A great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sumoplus001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I really liked this frosting. It is a twangy alternative to cream cheese frosting. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This wasn't half-bad. I used it over cinnamon rolls because I didn't have cream cheese for the frosting. It worked and the rolls are gone- job done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I thought this was perfect. I didn't think it was too thin, like other reviewers commented. The flavor was great. It was reminiscent of cream cheese frosting. Very good and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very nice recipe. I was looking for something a little softer to top some pumpkin bread muffins and this one fit the bill. I added extra lemon juice and omitted the vanilla extract. I'm looking forward to using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was very yummy frosting. I am not a fan of vanilla extract so I cut it out and added more lemon juice....soooo good. This did not come out like a glaze for me so I used it on allrecipies Soft Sugar Cookies IV. Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States