Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Made it to put on cinnamon rolls--very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
very nice alternative when you dont have cream cheese around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Fabulous! This icing was so delicious, I'm surprised it even made it to the cupcakes - it was getting eaten in the process! And it's so nice that it's lower in calories, definitely a plus. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
The flavor of the frosting was great, and I added extra lemon to top a devils food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe. I have used it for years. I make this with my rich chocolate torte cake and add 2 cups shredded coconut and took out the lemon juice. Layed my torte, put it in the refrigerator (covered) and they are the best tortes ever. I get paid to make them for people. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti
Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This came out as a glaze for me, even after adding an extra cup of confectioners suger. It is very tasty, but I will probably not add the salt to it next time. I used this to frost a layer cake (Maple Ginger Cake), probably a bad idea since it would have been better on a bundt or sheet cake, but the flavors worked great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I make cinnamon rolls all of the time and each time I do, I create a different glaze since Ive never found one recipe that I just love...until now! This is such a great, easy, and delicious recipe. I agree that it is better than any Cream Cheese icing. This is a keeper recipe and I will be using from now on for my cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaGayle Jack Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
YUMMY! Used it to frost the Black Magic Cake and a butter yellow cake with Strawberry Jam for a filling. It was delicious on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is super easy and really good! The only reson I gave it 4 instead of 5 is that it's really more of an ICING than a FROSTING. That's what I wanted, so it worked out fine for me, but if I'd made this with the intention of 'frosting' a cake, I don't think it'd work at all. I put it on cinnamon rolls (Clone Of A Cinnabon...mmmm...) and it was absolutely perfect. Would be good for a bundt type cake or to drizzle over a coffee cake, but NOT a substitute for buttercream, etc. Has a nice tangy tartness to it that balances well with the sweetness. Very similar to a cream cheese icing. I made 1/2 batch and it was almost too much to put on 7 good sized cinnamon buns. Made it the night before, refrigerated, and then set it on top of the warm oven while they baked to soften it up. A really. really good ICING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This recipe is VERY runny...I really liked the flavor of this recipe, but I followed the directions exactly and the butter would not smooth out so it was really lumpy and runny. I had to boil it for a while for it to thicken at all, but then it turned into more of a caramel texture... which is good for dipping apple slices in, but not for spreading on cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States