Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe. I have used it for years. I make this with my rich chocolate torte cake and add 2 cups shredded coconut and took out the lemon juice. Layed my torte, put it in the refrigerator (covered) and they are the best tortes ever. I get paid to make them for people. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti
Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This came out as a glaze for me, even after adding an extra cup of confectioners suger. It is very tasty, but I will probably not add the salt to it next time. I used this to frost a layer cake (Maple Ginger Cake), probably a bad idea since it would have been better on a bundt or sheet cake, but the flavors worked great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I make cinnamon rolls all of the time and each time I do, I create a different glaze since Ive never found one recipe that I just love...until now! This is such a great, easy, and delicious recipe. I agree that it is better than any Cream Cheese icing. This is a keeper recipe and I will be using from now on for my cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaGayle Jack Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
YUMMY! Used it to frost the Black Magic Cake and a butter yellow cake with Strawberry Jam for a filling. It was delicious on both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is super easy and really good! The only reson I gave it 4 instead of 5 is that it's really more of an ICING than a FROSTING. That's what I wanted, so it worked out fine for me, but if I'd made this with the intention of 'frosting' a cake, I don't think it'd work at all. I put it on cinnamon rolls (Clone Of A Cinnabon...mmmm...) and it was absolutely perfect. Would be good for a bundt type cake or to drizzle over a coffee cake, but NOT a substitute for buttercream, etc. Has a nice tangy tartness to it that balances well with the sweetness. Very similar to a cream cheese icing. I made 1/2 batch and it was almost too much to put on 7 good sized cinnamon buns. Made it the night before, refrigerated, and then set it on top of the warm oven while they baked to soften it up. A really. really good ICING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This recipe is VERY runny...I really liked the flavor of this recipe, but I followed the directions exactly and the butter would not smooth out so it was really lumpy and runny. I had to boil it for a while for it to thicken at all, but then it turned into more of a caramel texture... which is good for dipping apple slices in, but not for spreading on cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
More of an icing than a frosting. It's very tasty, but it's not very thick. It's probably best for cupcakes and such as opposed to, say, a birthday cake. But it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
this frosting is amazing. it is thinner than regular frosting, but thicker than a glaze. its perfect for pound cakes and bunt cakes. i actually used it on the black magic cake from this site. i made 2 9" cakes and poured it in the middle and on top. it oozed out and over the edges to look so pretty. if u want to thicken it up a bit before frosting just pop it in the fridge for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was a very tasty and easy frosting. It mixed up really well and was easy to spread. It was a soft frosting, but still spreadable. I made it one evening and used it the next morning on top of cinnamon rolls. Very good combination. I had some left over and later used it on a chocolate cake. It was okay on the cake, better on the cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shurkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I used this frosting for Pineapple cake and it was delicious. It's super sweet, which was good because I kept the cake not so sweet. A great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sumoplus001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States