Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this frosting for a home made carrot cake, and my husbandloved it. he didn't think he would because of the sour cream but it was a hit. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Knop Babski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this for my cheesecake, and it was too "soupy" it wasn't thick enough for it. It definitely needed substance. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I like the hint of lemon. This is suited for pouring over rolls, turnovers or a bundt cake. It makes a lot. Half is enough. This is now my goto for a quick icing. Update: I was making this (again) to pour over Christmas cookies and realized there is most likely a typo in the ingredients. I'm wondering if the 2 3/4 cups of sugar should be 2 3/4 lbs. That would account for why the photo doesn't match my end product. However I will continue to make the thinner version. Its quick, easy and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Yummy, quick, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
used this to drizzle on cake doughnuts and it was delicious, nice flavour and not overly sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I have to agree with other reviews. This has the texture of a dip more so than a frosting. However, it is very delicious and goes well with a dense cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
SOOOO GOOD!!!! very thin just as other reviewers said. mine wouldn't smooth out all the way, but still so very tasty. perfect for my pound cake =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Sorry- the consistency is nothing like icing (far too runny) and it is sickly sweet. I was terribly disappointed and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
delicious on banana cake. you dont taste the lemon but it really adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Okay, I give it a 4 on flavor, but the consistency of the frosting needs more body. I added more p. sugar trying to get it there but it flowed over the edges of the cake. I would love it if it had a little bit thicker feel to it. I will tweak it next time and share my results with others that may be looking for a thicker version of this great taste. It may just be to reduce liquids... I don't know how to do that... :0) but I think that's what I would need to give it that last star. Thanks. ******* REVISION: 10.3.10 I let the sour cream sit over a bowl on cheese cloth over night. It did the trick! If you want it to be a little less fluffy, add some of the liquid back in. That did the trick for the last start from me. Thanks!!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States