Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Made with fat-free sour cream - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
this was a delicious cake frosting/filling recipe. i did use about 2 cups of confectioners sugar and it tasted great. i will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
way too much confectioners' sugar. i didn't even bother to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
A bit unexciting but very functional! Never try it with unsoftened butter though, I did that and had the ugliest icing ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Yummy! This was excellent on my banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This should be called sour cream glaze! I was looking for a sour cream frosting for a banana cake, this was not it. The only reason I give it 1 star is because it did have sour cream. I'll save this recipe for when I make cinnamon rolls or carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Pretty fantastic. I used only 2c sugar and instead used the juice of one whole lemon. It definitely made it a lemon icing and that thinned it out a bit so I chilled it to firm up. Great bright flavor! And super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
OMG!!! this frosting is REALLY gooood!!!! it turns out more like a thick glaze but i used it to frost a 2 layer cake (homemade recipe i found on this site) and my family loved it!!! they are asking for me to bake another... thanks and keep the great recipes coming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Fantastic flavor! Mine came out thin as well, but I think it is because I didn't mix the butter and sour cream, etc. together before adding the confectioners sugar. Maybe adding the sugar should be designated a 2nd step in the recipe, because I missed that (got distracted baking with my daughter) and put all the ingredients in the bowl and then mixed. I added some more powdered sugar to try to thicken it, but it is still more of a glaze consistency. I substituted some Fiori di Sicilia (a vanilla and citrus oil blend) for the vanilla, which made the end result very pleasantly citrusy. We are using the frosting on a gingerbread cake. If I make this again, I'll also try using the whisk attachment on my stand mixer, rather than the paddle, that also may help with the consistency problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I used this reciped to frost 24 yellow cake cupcakes (had plenty left over!). My very picky family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sentinel, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States