Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this frosting for a home made carrot cake, and my husbandloved it. he didn't think he would because of the sour cream but it was a hit. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Knop Babski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this for my cheesecake, and it was too "soupy" it wasn't thick enough for it. It definitely needed substance. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I like the hint of lemon. This is suited for pouring over rolls, turnovers or a bundt cake. It makes a lot. Half is enough. This is now my goto for a quick icing. Update: I was making this (again) to pour over Christmas cookies and realized there is most likely a typo in the ingredients. I'm wondering if the 2 3/4 cups of sugar should be 2 3/4 lbs. That would account for why the photo doesn't match my end product. However I will continue to make the thinner version. Its quick, easy and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Yummy, quick, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
used this to drizzle on cake doughnuts and it was delicious, nice flavour and not overly sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I have to agree with other reviews. This has the texture of a dip more so than a frosting. However, it is very delicious and goes well with a dense cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
SOOOO GOOD!!!! very thin just as other reviewers said. mine wouldn't smooth out all the way, but still so very tasty. perfect for my pound cake =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Sorry- the consistency is nothing like icing (far too runny) and it is sickly sweet. I was terribly disappointed and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
delicious on banana cake. you dont taste the lemon but it really adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Okay, I give it a 4 on flavor, but the consistency of the frosting needs more body. I added more p. sugar trying to get it there but it flowed over the edges of the cake. I would love it if it had a little bit thicker feel to it. I will tweak it next time and share my results with others that may be looking for a thicker version of this great taste. It may just be to reduce liquids... I don't know how to do that... :0) but I think that's what I would need to give it that last star. Thanks. ******* REVISION: 10.3.10 I let the sour cream sit over a bowl on cheese cloth over night. It did the trick! If you want it to be a little less fluffy, add some of the liquid back in. That did the trick for the last start from me. Thanks!!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States