Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good flavor but I agree that this is more of an icing than a frosting. I added another cup of powdered sugar and it was still too thin to be a frosting. Maybe it would help to strain the water off of the sour cream. I always mix it in before I use it. I don't use sour cream in many recipes, mainly I use it as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Just wanted to make a note to myself that we did not care for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Thanks so much for this gem. Didn't have cream cheese, only sour cream and needed to quickly frost cinnamon rolls. Turned out excellent!!! Love this more than cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstyson23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This turns out really thin and is more of a glaze, but oh god does it taste good. Ive not messed around with it other than what it calls for here and I don't think I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This just tastes like sugar. It was also very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I like mine a tad more tart, so I either cut back a bit on the powdered sugar or add a bit more lemon juice, but otherwise, fantastic! Goes great on cinnamon rolls, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is great!! Mine came out like a frosting as well instead of thin. I would say to make sure the butter is softened NOT melted like many people tend to do. Also gradually add the lemon juice and vanilla extract so as not to make it soupy. I love this recipe and I will put it to use on all of my pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Detroitsista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I find this recipe very versatile since I can change it from a dipping sauce perfect for fruit to a frosting for my scones and tea breads. No alterations to the ingredients list or directions needed. Some Troubleshooting Tips: Reading over reviews, I noticed some people had thick, spreadable frosting, while others had something runnier, like a sauce or dip. It could be the sour cream. The moisture content of your sour cream is going to determine your results, with a thick, stick-to-the-spoon sour cream producing a thicker frosting, and a goopy, watery sour cream producing a dipping sauce. By some fluke, an "old fashioned" local brand went on sale, and for the first time I encountered a sour cream that didn't have a layer of water sitting on top. It was as thick as cream cheese, and I originally worried something was wrong with it. Used it to make scones. Used it for this recipe. It has become a staple in my fridge. If I need to, I can always add milk or water to change the consistency. Also, allow the butter to come to room temperature. From experience, this could take a few hours. Heating or microwaving your butter to soften it will produce something closer to an icing, not a frosting. If you are baking or cooking, keep it away from heat, since you need your butter softened, not melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Beautiful - the texture of good thick cream cheese frosting. Very similar in taste as well. Made it to put on top of zucchini bread cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I was pleased with this recipe. Needed to find something for the cinnamon rolls I am going to make for the morning and didn't have any cream cheese. I found this instead. Will make it again for sure. I agree with some of the other reviews. It is more like a glaze than a frosting but it will go perfect with my cinnamon rolls! Can't wait to make them in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States