Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very good advice from Red Apron, but what I noticed the first time I made this product I beat it with a wisk and it was a bit runny just what I wanted at that time. This time I put the electric mixer on it and it stiffened up. I love this recipe it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I did not care for this icing. It was a runny mess. I wanted to ice cupcakes with it, not use it as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Like many others, I was out of cream cheese and the carrot cake needed frosting. Delicious! This may be my new favorite frosting. Very easy. Ingredients anyone would have on hand. I think the variance in the consistency by reviewers is due to the sour cream - stiff or watery? Mine was a bit watery compared to others I have purchased. So, I slowly added a bit more confectioners sugar than called for until I reached the desired consistency. In total I added about 3/4 cup of extra confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Pigeon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good flavor but I agree that this is more of an icing than a frosting. I added another cup of powdered sugar and it was still too thin to be a frosting. Maybe it would help to strain the water off of the sour cream. I always mix it in before I use it. I don't use sour cream in many recipes, mainly I use it as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Just wanted to make a note to myself that we did not care for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Thanks so much for this gem. Didn't have cream cheese, only sour cream and needed to quickly frost cinnamon rolls. Turned out excellent!!! Love this more than cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstyson23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This turns out really thin and is more of a glaze, but oh god does it taste good. Ive not messed around with it other than what it calls for here and I don't think I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This just tastes like sugar. It was also very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I like mine a tad more tart, so I either cut back a bit on the powdered sugar or add a bit more lemon juice, but otherwise, fantastic! Goes great on cinnamon rolls, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is great!! Mine came out like a frosting as well instead of thin. I would say to make sure the butter is softened NOT melted like many people tend to do. Also gradually add the lemon juice and vanilla extract so as not to make it soupy. I love this recipe and I will put it to use on all of my pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Detroitsista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States