Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I thought this was very good. I added extra sugar to thicken it up along with some lemon extract, and beat with my electric mixer until creamy. Iced a cake, and will definitely use this again as a glaze after I thin it out. Needless to say, I have some left over since I don't use a lot of icing. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountaindo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
The Icing was to runny but otherwise it tasted fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Really great and quick, I wd agree that it needs more icing sugar/confectioners as too runny. also more than enough with these amounts for x 2 cakes top and fillings!!! Thanks it is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made it and did not like it at all. It tastes like gritty powdered sugar and too sweet for my taste buds. All I tasted was the powdered sugar and I was under generous with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildatdaybreak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Liked this recipe for cupcakes. I used slightly more confectioners sugar to thinken up & adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. It was too thin for my cupcakes, so I needed to thicken. Love the flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is really good on sweet breads such as banana and pumpkin. Very easy, cheaper and better than cream cheese! I am using this recipe for a charity bake sale. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very good advice from Red Apron, but what I noticed the first time I made this product I beat it with a wisk and it was a bit runny just what I wanted at that time. This time I put the electric mixer on it and it stiffened up. I love this recipe it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I did not care for this icing. It was a runny mess. I wanted to ice cupcakes with it, not use it as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Like many others, I was out of cream cheese and the carrot cake needed frosting. Delicious! This may be my new favorite frosting. Very easy. Ingredients anyone would have on hand. I think the variance in the consistency by reviewers is due to the sour cream - stiff or watery? Mine was a bit watery compared to others I have purchased. So, I slowly added a bit more confectioners sugar than called for until I reached the desired consistency. In total I added about 3/4 cup of extra confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Pigeon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good flavor but I agree that this is more of an icing than a frosting. I added another cup of powdered sugar and it was still too thin to be a frosting. Maybe it would help to strain the water off of the sour cream. I always mix it in before I use it. I don't use sour cream in many recipes, mainly I use it as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States