Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing refreshing creamy frosting!!!!! I used lime juice instead of lemon juice. Complimented my carrot cake perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made it for my son's birthday party it was an awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaneka Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I tried making it on a hot day and it came out more like a glaze than a frosting (probably not the recipe's fault). I was looking for something to top my carrot cupcakes and I didn't have any cream cheese- this tastes very similar and was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
it was rather thin. but maybe that was because of the sugar. I added a bit less sugar as I liked it that way and maybe my sour cream was a little watery, I guess. But the taste is awesome. I also tried using orange juice. It tasted even better that way. but I guess most people might be using this recipe to make up for cream cheese frosting. if so, lemon is always the best. But it will not hurt to try orange juice as well. I liked it even more with orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Super easy to make. Dumped everything and let the stand mixer do its thing. Taste as good as cream cheese frosting and sour cream is so much cheaper and easier to handle. I put it on homemade carrot cake and it taste good. If you don't want it too sweet just use less powdered sugar. Would be a bit more runny, may be too soft for piping, but still covers the cake well and look pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious. Just like mama used to make. Put it on a cherry cake. Hey that rhymes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent - all I had in fridge was light sour cream so was forced to try something different. I used orange extract plus the lemon juice to ice a 13x9 mandarin orange cake; also added a bit extra confec. sugar; otherwise it comes out like a thick glaze as others have said. I'm wondering if this icing is a better consistency in cool weather rather than hot; it's January now in the south and the butter was easier to cream rather in the hotter months- therefore it just csme out perfect for cake icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Mine turned out as a thick glaze, which didn't bother me much, it made it realy easy to spread over my birthday cake. I just drop it over the top and it spread itself evenly and with a nice shine. What I really didn't like was the taste and texture on the mouth. I could notice the confectioner's sugar (like a grainy, dusty texture) and even with the lemon all the sourness of the cream was gone (it all just tasted like confectioner's sugar). Won't do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It would be perfect for a sheet cake where the fact that the frosting never sets up makes no difference. Unfortunately, I used this recipe for my mother's 90th birthday party 3 layer cake. The frosting was soggy so I froze it. Made it even worse. I solved the soggy frosting problem by sifting powdered sugar all over the top of the cake (30 pound cake) and refrosting the side with my faithful buttercream frosting. I'm not sure if it was the lemon or the sour cream or the two mixed together, but I would definitely not use it on a cake with some height.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Very tasty! The consistency was a bit thinner than store-bought, but that makes it very spreadable without tearing the cake top. Put it in the fridge and it will thicken as the butter re-sets. It seemed like the recipe was too small to fully frost a cake, so I doubled it - now I have 1/2 of it left to do cinnamon rolls later in the week (apparently the recipe amounts are fine for a 9x13 cake!). As for the critical reviewer saying it was too much confectioners' sugar - what did you thing frosting was? Beef gravy??? Frosting is sugar and fat!!! Frosting was invented as a preservative for cake - it seals in the moisture and prevents the cake from going stale (I worked for a cake bakery in another life).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States