Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Was looking to substitute my regular cream cheese frosting as I didn't have any cream cheese. This one is perfect! It's light and fluffy and goes great with the carrot cake I just made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Really enjoyed. Not as heavy as cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Slaton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
So good and super easy! Just made to put on top of my zucchini bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann Raczkowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing refreshing creamy frosting!!!!! I used lime juice instead of lemon juice. Complimented my carrot cake perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made it for my son's birthday party it was an awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaneka Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I tried making it on a hot day and it came out more like a glaze than a frosting (probably not the recipe's fault). I was looking for something to top my carrot cupcakes and I didn't have any cream cheese- this tastes very similar and was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
it was rather thin. but maybe that was because of the sugar. I added a bit less sugar as I liked it that way and maybe my sour cream was a little watery, I guess. But the taste is awesome. I also tried using orange juice. It tasted even better that way. but I guess most people might be using this recipe to make up for cream cheese frosting. if so, lemon is always the best. But it will not hurt to try orange juice as well. I liked it even more with orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Super easy to make. Dumped everything and let the stand mixer do its thing. Taste as good as cream cheese frosting and sour cream is so much cheaper and easier to handle. I put it on homemade carrot cake and it taste good. If you don't want it too sweet just use less powdered sugar. Would be a bit more runny, may be too soft for piping, but still covers the cake well and look pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious. Just like mama used to make. Put it on a cherry cake. Hey that rhymes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent - all I had in fridge was light sour cream so was forced to try something different. I used orange extract plus the lemon juice to ice a 13x9 mandarin orange cake; also added a bit extra confec. sugar; otherwise it comes out like a thick glaze as others have said. I'm wondering if this icing is a better consistency in cool weather rather than hot; it's January now in the south and the butter was easier to cream rather in the hotter months- therefore it just csme out perfect for cake icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States