Sour Cream Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used only 1/4 cup olive oil, didnt have mustard powder, used about 3-4 teaspoons red wine vinegar, about 2-3 Tablespoons sugar, the 1/4 cup sour cream, pinch pepper, pinch salt. After whisking, poured this over sliced cukes, onion, sliced blk olives,tomatoes, sweet peppers, and avocados. Tasty! Thought the 1 cup would b way too oily and it would have been too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Great recipe and easy! It does need to chill because to me that definitely brings out the amazing flavor. I chilled mine for about 7 hours. Give it a good stir after refrigerating and it becomes creamy again. I made a simple baby spinach, arugula, boiled egg, and avocado salad and used this dressing on it and it was amazing! You don't need much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Very good - after tasting it, I thought it would make a great slaw dressing - and so it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I love making small batches of salad dressings so we can have a different kind every time I make salads for supper. I made a half batch of this, but did use less olive oil. I mixed all the ingredients and slowly added the olive oil until the dressing was at the consistency I like. The end result was very good, just a little on the sweet side. I made another half batch but only used 2 TB of the sugar and I liked it much better. This is very good on a lettuce salad that fruit has been added. Note that when you put the leftovers in the fridge, it will be very thick when you take it out. Stir it up and let it rest on the countertop for about 15 minutes, stir again, and it will taste like you just made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I followed Molly’s advice and used less olive oil. I wish I had used less sugar. This was a little too sweet for us, so I added granny smith apples and strawberries to the salad and it turned out wonderful. With the modifications, this is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good flavors!! I made as is and then did a twist next time around using unsweetened apple sauce instead of sour cream and cut the oil to 2 T and sugar to 1/3 cup and used 1/4 cup cider vinegar.. and 1 T reg prepared mustard with 1/4 onion chopped, and small garlic..threw in blender and wow it was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I tried this tonight only I put Agave and Truvia instead of sugar, it was great and I have a lot left over for the next week. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I admit I changed this a little bit - but did keep the spirit of the recipe - but only because I don't like the taste of olive oil - so I used grapeseed oil instead. I also favor dill over parsley - so I made that substitution too. For anyone with guests not wanting alcohol (or ingredients made with or named after alcohol) you can substitute apple cider vinegar in place of the red wine vinegar....I did add a bit more sugar and a bit more sour cream - I wanted it sweeter and for it to have a thicker consistency. It does need to sit overnight - then be whisked again before dressing your salads! This would be great on a broccoli slaw as well!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My husband loved this, but both of us agreed the olive oil was overpowering and should be cut down. Also, I used fat free sour cream, and I found it helpful to let it sit and "thicken" and then whisk until the oil mixed in with the sour cream for a creamy dressing. I think this would make a great coleslaw or pasta salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
went great with romaine lettuce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker449@aol.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States