Sour Cream Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Oh, these are so good. I love how they are fat and soft. They aren't too sweet, yet they are still "sugar" cookies that you can frost. Love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is our new favorite sugar cookie recipe. It holds the shapes perfectly and are so soft and yummy. This is a great recipe for kids because it isn't sticky and it is easy for them to roll out and transfer the cookies themselves. Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Every Christmas we make these cookies for a cookie decorating party and they alway turn out soft and light, very few ever make it into the take home bag! The flour and sour cream are key, DON'T substitute! The dough will be very stiff, stir by last of the flour in by hand if necessary. It isn't a sweet cookie, that's why they're so good for decorating with icing and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I have searched for many years to find a delicious cut-out recipe worthy of the time and $ invested. THIS IS IT! It must be the cake flour and the sour cream. The cookies looked like they were purchased at a high-end bakery. I am an avid baker and I can not thank you enough for this treasure! Thank you Patty for sharing this gem of a cut-out cookie recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These were sooo good. I don't usually like sugar cookies, but these were great! Not overly sweet, as other reviewers have noted, which is the perfect base for a nice buttercream frosting! I found that I didn't need to cook them quite as long--I cut the bake time by several minutes--but that might be due to differences in the thickness of the cookies I rolled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I had so much fun making these cookies with my two year old last night. This dough was so easy to work with. I rolled mine really thick so my son could pick up the cookies easilly once they were cut out without tearing or breaking. Even though they were really thick, the cooking time listed seemed a bit too long. A really nice soft texture, lightly sweet cookie that holds it shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Yum!! I added some cinnamon and used the brown sugar frosting on this site and made great fall cut outs. They were so soft and held their shape. I will use this recipe for Christmas as well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is the ideal cut-out cookie recipe if you plan to frost your cookies. The dough is easy to work with, and the result will be a fat,soft cookie & the perfect base for decorating. Use super sweet frosting and your cookies will taste exactly like those big, soft frosted cookies you can buy from your grocery store. Definitely bakery quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I like the taste, but next time, will cut the cooking time by a few minutes, as 10 minutes produced a somewhat dry cookie. They hold their shape very well and look really pretty frosted with sugar cookie frosting from this site. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Made as directed. Didn't want to frost, so gave a very light sprinkle of nutmeg. Very good to the eye and to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States