Sour Cream Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I have searched for many years to find a delicious cut-out recipe worthy of the time and $ invested. THIS IS IT! It must be the cake flour and the sour cream. The cookies looked like they were purchased at a high-end bakery. I am an avid baker and I can not thank you enough for this treasure! Thank you Patty for sharing this gem of a cut-out cookie recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Every Christmas we make these cookies for a cookie decorating party and they alway turn out soft and light, very few ever make it into the take home bag! The flour and sour cream are key, DON'T substitute! The dough will be very stiff, stir by last of the flour in by hand if necessary. It isn't a sweet cookie, that's why they're so good for decorating with icing and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I like the taste, but next time, will cut the cooking time by a few minutes, as 10 minutes produced a somewhat dry cookie. They hold their shape very well and look really pretty frosted with sugar cookie frosting from this site. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This is the easiest cut-out cookie dough I've ever worked with. Ended up using less flour than called for.I liked the not-too-sweet flavor, but I goofed and ended up using self-rising flour instead of cake flour. Mine ended up being more of a sweet biscuit -- would be great dough for scones! Would have probably been wonderful if I'd used the right flour. The texture is great -- the sour cream makes the difference. I'll definitely try them again -- the right way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Looked cute, but dry and not sweet. I didnt over bake, but they just came out dry. Wont make again. I prefer a stardard sugar cookie. Wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is probably one of the best cut-out cookie dough I've ever worked with. The finished product held it's shape and puffed up nicely. The only downfall this cookie has is the lack of sweetness. But otherwise it is soft, melts in your mouth, mmm mmm. It's a good thing the frosting I made compensated for the lack of sweetness in the cookie itself. I also made this dough ahead of time, maybe a few weeks ahead. Rolled it into a log, wrapped it tightly in wax paper and stored in a ziplock bag. I thawed it 3/4 way before I started working with it. Very good dough, very good cookie. I will try this recipe again and probably put more sugar in next time. Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is the ideal cut-out cookie recipe if you plan to frost your cookies. The dough is easy to work with, and the result will be a fat,soft cookie & the perfect base for decorating. Use super sweet frosting and your cookies will taste exactly like those big, soft frosted cookies you can buy from your grocery store. Definitely bakery quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Yum!! I added some cinnamon and used the brown sugar frosting on this site and made great fall cut outs. They were so soft and held their shape. I will use this recipe for Christmas as well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I had so much fun making these cookies with my two year old last night. This dough was so easy to work with. I rolled mine really thick so my son could pick up the cookies easilly once they were cut out without tearing or breaking. Even though they were really thick, the cooking time listed seemed a bit too long. A really nice soft texture, lightly sweet cookie that holds it shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These were sooo good. I don't usually like sugar cookies, but these were great! Not overly sweet, as other reviewers have noted, which is the perfect base for a nice buttercream frosting! I found that I didn't need to cook them quite as long--I cut the bake time by several minutes--but that might be due to differences in the thickness of the cookies I rolled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States