Sour Cream Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This dough was extremely easy to work with - other than that, I wasn't a fan. I tried out a bunch of new cookie recipes one weekend, and this one was definitely the least favourite of everyone who sampled them. This is not a sweet cookie - I used a lemon juice & icing sugar glaze that improved them a bit, but I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is our new favorite sugar cookie recipe. It holds the shapes perfectly and are so soft and yummy. This is a great recipe for kids because it isn't sticky and it is easy for them to roll out and transfer the cookies themselves. Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Yum!! I added some cinnamon and used the brown sugar frosting on this site and made great fall cut outs. They were so soft and held their shape. I will use this recipe for Christmas as well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Oh, these are so good. I love how they are fat and soft. They aren't too sweet, yet they are still "sugar" cookies that you can frost. Love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I had so much fun making these cookies with my two year old last night. This dough was so easy to work with. I rolled mine really thick so my son could pick up the cookies easilly once they were cut out without tearing or breaking. Even though they were really thick, the cooking time listed seemed a bit too long. A really nice soft texture, lightly sweet cookie that holds it shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These were sooo good. I don't usually like sugar cookies, but these were great! Not overly sweet, as other reviewers have noted, which is the perfect base for a nice buttercream frosting! I found that I didn't need to cook them quite as long--I cut the bake time by several minutes--but that might be due to differences in the thickness of the cookies I rolled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I have searched for many years to find a delicious cut-out recipe worthy of the time and $ invested. THIS IS IT! It must be the cake flour and the sour cream. The cookies looked like they were purchased at a high-end bakery. I am an avid baker and I can not thank you enough for this treasure! Thank you Patty for sharing this gem of a cut-out cookie recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Every Christmas we make these cookies for a cookie decorating party and they alway turn out soft and light, very few ever make it into the take home bag! The flour and sour cream are key, DON'T substitute! The dough will be very stiff, stir by last of the flour in by hand if necessary. It isn't a sweet cookie, that's why they're so good for decorating with icing and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This is the easiest cut-out cookie dough I've ever worked with. Ended up using less flour than called for.I liked the not-too-sweet flavor, but I goofed and ended up using self-rising flour instead of cake flour. Mine ended up being more of a sweet biscuit -- would be great dough for scones! Would have probably been wonderful if I'd used the right flour. The texture is great -- the sour cream makes the difference. I'll definitely try them again -- the right way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States