Sour Cream Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
No thanks. Too doughy. I think this recipe calls for way too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by darthotto
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I liked these cookies. The dough is extremely easy to work with. I was almost like bread dough. I rolled my dough out thick and it doubled in size after baking. They not only looked like bisquits, they had the texture of them too. I did like the taste though. These need to be rolled thin. They dont have much flavor so pick a great frosting. I was looking for the store bought sugar cookie( the ones that are thick with not flavor). Ill try again but make my own adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This cookie reminded me of being a child again. A classmates mother would bring in a cookie just like this on holidays. Now I can be THAT mom! Tasty cookie with ease of rolling and so simple to work with. My 4 year old and I spent an afternoon in the kitchen and created memories and masterpieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Looked cute, but dry and not sweet. I didnt over bake, but they just came out dry. Wont make again. I prefer a stardard sugar cookie. Wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Definitely an easy dough to put together and work with, but these cookies are tasteless. They next day these cookies were still "soft", but tough. If you are looking for a vehicle for tons of icing- make these; if your looking for something that tastes good, look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Made as directed. Didn't want to frost, so gave a very light sprinkle of nutmeg. Very good to the eye and to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I like the taste, but next time, will cut the cooking time by a few minutes, as 10 minutes produced a somewhat dry cookie. They hold their shape very well and look really pretty frosted with sugar cookie frosting from this site. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is probably one of the best cut-out cookie dough I've ever worked with. The finished product held it's shape and puffed up nicely. The only downfall this cookie has is the lack of sweetness. But otherwise it is soft, melts in your mouth, mmm mmm. It's a good thing the frosting I made compensated for the lack of sweetness in the cookie itself. I also made this dough ahead of time, maybe a few weeks ahead. Rolled it into a log, wrapped it tightly in wax paper and stored in a ziplock bag. I thawed it 3/4 way before I started working with it. Very good dough, very good cookie. I will try this recipe again and probably put more sugar in next time. Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is the ideal cut-out cookie recipe if you plan to frost your cookies. The dough is easy to work with, and the result will be a fat,soft cookie & the perfect base for decorating. Use super sweet frosting and your cookies will taste exactly like those big, soft frosted cookies you can buy from your grocery store. Definitely bakery quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I agree with Jan, for the same reasons. It goes together well, and rolls, etc. nicely. But the flavor just isn't there. I tried adding a little lemon zest but still on the 'flat' side for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States