Sour Cream Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I wanted to thank the person who posted this recipe. I always make dozens of cut cookies every holiday season, and this is by far the easiest to make (in my Cuisinart), roll out and cook that I've ever found. I love that I don't have to chill the dough in the refrigerator. And, they taste great. I don't change a thing. Kudos to the cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Made these about a week ago. I always chill my doughs so when I got it out and it was a little sticky I added about 1/4 c of flour and they came out perfect. They are still soft after a week and are a hit with my kids. Just cut them out and baked...no frosting and everyone loved them. Next time will sprinkle with sugar or little decorations or ice maybe but we liked the flavor fine. May try some almond extract with the vanilla too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veneta Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These have a decent flavor and rolled out nicely, however, even though I rolled out the dough (chilled) to 1/2" they broke apart when i took them off the pan. I tried smaller cut outs and large same result. I also tried it with and without a Silpat same result. I'll try others before I come back to this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
We tried making Easter cut-outs, but ended up making a different recipe after the first set of these came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Soft yet crisp on the edges. I would add 1/2cup more sugar if you are keeping them plain. I also added vanilla extract and a pinch of allspice for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was my first time making these and they are absolutely wonderful! I read the reviews and I was worried they would turn out "bland" tasting so I added 1 tsp vanilla extract to be safe. The only bad thing about this recipe was the dough was very sticky for me, so I would recommend refrigerating the dough for at least a few hours. I used confectionery sugar to make mine more manageable, it worked great! I took mine out of the oven after 8 minutes. I am so happy with how these turned out! Thanks so much RB5899!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimalee1872

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made these cutouts last year for christmas and they were a huge hit. I made the dough the day before and refrigerated it over night. I only take out enough dough for one batch at a time. To make things easier I roll the dough out on parchment paper before cutting the cookies out. I bake them on the parchment paper on an airbake cookie sheet. They turn out soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
i usually make these around the holidays. for extra flavor i add either vanilla or lemon extract. i then use canned vanilla frosting to decorate. everyone always raves about these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These are our favorite sugar cookies ever!! My 3 year old son and I make them very often. I add Vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Best sugar cookie recipe EVER! I've used this recipe numerous times and refuse to use any other. :) These cookies are THAT good! They remind me of the puffy iced sugar cookies you get at Jewel. I like to roll my thick and underbake them a little. My family loves them!!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States