Sour Cream Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The things i changed in this recipe was using margarine instead of crisco, adding 1/4c milk, 1/2 tsp salt, and they turned out excellent! Oh yeah, and liquid food gel to make them hot pink! I made mini cupcakes, so they only needed about 15 min to bake. Make sure to cream the sugar with the margarine very, very well, don't over mix the rest, and you will end up with a light, fluffly, and moist cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I love these cupcakes, the flavor was great and the texture as perfect. I did make a few minor changes to the recipe. I didn't use shortening so I substitued softened butter and I added a pinch of salt to the recipe. I made the cupcakes tonight and I had to use a great deal of disciple to only eat 2. Thank you for sharing this great recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Recipe was yummy. You definitely will need to add the 2 tbsp of water as it comes out very thick. Also, the recipe only made 8 cupcakes for me-normal size, but full-they came out very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Great taste and nice texture. I didn't have shortening so i used softened butter instead. The batter was a bit dry so i added 2 tablespoons of water. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made these for my church using this recipe and they came out very dry... I am going to try softened butter and see how it works out.. also i added a little more vanilla for better flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very dry and not good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Came out very very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
dry ..no flavor.. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I liked how this recipe tasted and it baked well. I used butter for flavor instead of shortening. I added egg whites plus one egg. It came out fluffy and lite without being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Nice dense but still moist, and not overly sweet. I also added 1/4 cup milk and used butter not crisco. The tops were a smooth lightly crisp top, not the sticky tops that come with box mixes. Easier to put the frosting on that way! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States