Sour Cream Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I pre-measured all the ingredients, yet this batter was definitely not pourable as indicated. It was quite thick, more like muffin batter. I'm not a fan of vegetable shortening and normally do not use it, but I did for this recipe. I really would prefer a lighter cake with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Great taste and nice texture. I didn't have shortening so i used softened butter instead. The batter was a bit dry so i added 2 tablespoons of water. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I love these cupcakes, the flavor was great and the texture as perfect. I did make a few minor changes to the recipe. I didn't use shortening so I substitued softened butter and I added a pinch of salt to the recipe. I made the cupcakes tonight and I had to use a great deal of disciple to only eat 2. Thank you for sharing this great recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Recipe was yummy. You definitely will need to add the 2 tbsp of water as it comes out very thick. Also, the recipe only made 8 cupcakes for me-normal size, but full-they came out very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Came out very very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very dry and not good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made these for my church using this recipe and they came out very dry... I am going to try softened butter and see how it works out.. also i added a little more vanilla for better flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
The things i changed in this recipe was using margarine instead of crisco, adding 1/4c milk, 1/2 tsp salt, and they turned out excellent! Oh yeah, and liquid food gel to make them hot pink! I made mini cupcakes, so they only needed about 15 min to bake. Make sure to cream the sugar with the margarine very, very well, don't over mix the rest, and you will end up with a light, fluffly, and moist cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
dry ..no flavor.. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
A good recipe! Yes, you do have to make some changes to add moisture to the cupcakes, but it is not that hard! A tbsp of milk is all you need and they come out lovely and moist. I added some extra vanilla for a bit more of a "punch," and it definitely helped! I topped with chocolate icing and they were quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States