Sour Cream Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Worked really well and tasted fabulous. I never use Crisco... Instead I substituted with 1/4 cup natural apple sauce and 2 Tbs milk. I also added 1/4 tsp of salt. This made 33 mini cupcakes, which were ready in 13 minutes. This is my new run to cupcake recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
They were very dense, tough, flavorless cupcakes. Very dry and no flavor, this was even after adding extra vanilla and some almond extract. Will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I've already started this in the bowl,but I'm going to make changes& while I am usually certain about changes being for the better,I'm not so sure about this.'Think I'd not make it now that I've read&compared to tried recipes.I'm going for 24,not 16 cupcakes,so am halving more the recipe.These amounts: 2 1/4c flour;1T bpowder;1/4 + 1/8t bsoda;ADDING 1/2t salt;SUBBING 1/2c BUTTER;INCREASING sugar to 1 1/4c;ONLY using 2 eggs (eggs'll do that. A fudgy 2 egg brownie recipe becomes cakelike with one more egg); 2/3c mostly sour cream w remainder plain yogurt;ADDED 1/3c milk;1 1/2t vanilla.I usually don't feel guilt with changes.This one's different. I don't know why, maybe the severe changes; but not that much considering I'm just increasing, right?!Please forgive.I'll get back with results.(Crossing fingers!) Not done yet,in the oven,but more to say: Only 18 muffins w increased amount. With 15 to 20 minute bake time,submitter MUST HAVE been using a lessthan standardsize pans to get 16.Batter seems seeet enough.'Thicker than most cake batters even with adding milk.'Still crossing fingers.Out of the oven in 18.Very light in weight.Hope that doesn't mean very dry.TASTE TEST:'Tastes like a cake mix.Not a bad cake mix.Light like they are.'Not very moist,but moist enough to say not dry.'Stuck to the wrappers a little. Just okay.I give myself a cheer for decreasing to 2 eggs.'Woulda been dry with three for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a very flexible recipe, which is key for me because I was "assisted" by my three year old and we don't have time for scientific measuring when she's involved. I added an entire 8 oz container of sour cream that I had frozen and then thawed in the microwave, a smidge of milk and extra teaspoon (or more probably two) of Mexican vanilla. I did not use Crisco, but instead subbed butter as recommended by other reviews. Also sprinkled maybe a 1/8 - 1/4 teaspoon table salt into the batter. This recipe yielded exactly 48 mini-cupcakes--scooped with a mini-scoop into mini-cupcake liners, with just a little bit of batter left on the beater. The cupcakes rose nicely. Not sure why other reviewers are "pouring" their batter into their cups. I'd recommend an ice cream scoop or melon baller. I set my oven timer for 7 minutes, then added a minute or two as needed until they were just perfectly browned. (I baked two mini-trays at a time on the same rack). I don't like using Crisco, so I topped them with a pure buttercream and some Christmas Sprinkles. They looked and tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Just baked this as I was feeling a bit under the weather... :( - baking is always soothing for me. Back to the review - had no sour cream and shortening so used canola oil and past sell by date yoghurt (expired sounds wrong!). They have turned out great and seem lovely and fluffy. Am resisting the tempetation to actually taste one for fear of... you know what. Thanks Emma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These cupcakes remind me of pound cake-which I love! The batter is far thicker than I expected, almost like a cookie dough, but they turned out perfect--lightly browned on top. I made one small adjustment-instead of all shortening, I used half margarine and half shortening. I prefer the flavor that way. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Ok I'm always baking but my husband is very picky he absolutely loves just yellow cake and chocolate frosting so today I Thought id be nice and bake something for him.these cupcakes caught my eye they sounded good I read the reviews an seen a lot of people said they were dry so I added a little milk with the sour cream added a little extra vanilla and the end result is Delicious!!!hubbub is very pleased I will use this Recipe offen! Update I can't stop eating them...lol Love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. Filled the liners half way and baked for only 12 minutes. They were crisp on the top as another reviewer stated so they do frost well. They are dense and not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I liked how this recipe tasted and it baked well. I used butter for flavor instead of shortening. I added egg whites plus one egg. It came out fluffy and lite without being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States