Sour Cream, Cucumber and Dill Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was great. I added garlic for extra zing. We ate it with blackened tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This dip was delicious. The fresh dill brought such a nice flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this dip last minute to go along with my salmon with lemon and dill (I was a little nervous my company would find the salmon bland). It was super easy and came out great after sitting in the fridge for about an hour. Great complement to the fish I'll most likely serve it on the side anytime I have salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ghose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
very good...added 1/2 tsp thyme and 1/2 tsp black pepper. Used with Light Sour Cream. I also only used about 1/2 cup of fresh chopped dill since that was all I had and everyone loved it. Said it was fresh and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I had a couple different get-togethers today, and knowing I couldn't be in any control of the earlier one and knowing it would be full of calories, when I was asked to bring something for the later one, I went on a search for a good low calorie veggie dip. I ran into this one and it looked to be right up my alley. I have to say I enjoyed it very much. I only made a couple minor changes. I used fat free sour cream, and added some dried thyme and some black pepper. It was delicious, and after taking my kids to a carnival where my only choices for dinner were full of calories, it was nice to be able to take something healthy to my other get-together. The only thing I would have done differently if I had had it on hand at the time is instead of regular black pepper, I would have used freshly ground black pepper. Very good recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I made this dip for an office party, and ALL the ladies loved it. One comment was "I've never tasted anything so fresh and light!" Delicious recipe and perfect for a summer snack:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This dip is excellent. I needed a dip for a crudite platter I made, and I thought about buying a dip, then I found this recipe and thought I'd try it. I'm so glad I did because people RAVED about it. People said, "it tastes so fresh". It's so light, it's perfect for the warm weather. I'll definately make this again. Oh, I didn't add nearly that much lemon juice, I added just a squeeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
What a wonderful way to use dill and cucumbers from the garden! I chose this recipe because I did not have Greek yogurt on hand and wanted a sauce that could pass as tzatziki. I would definitely recommend this as a substitute. I added a small bit of olive oil mayo to the mixture, just to add thickness. UPDATE: Today I did not have any lemon juice on hand. If you find yourself in this situation, use vinegar as a substitute. However, do not use the full amount. Just add until the dip tastes right. I don't even know how much I added. Also, green onions make a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe. I made this for work and 2 people asked me for the recipe and 3 people can't stop talking about it. Instead of grating and extracting the juice, I seeded the cucumber and chopped the cucumber into small pieces. This way, you could still taste the cucumber. It is a very refreshing dip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love this recipe with garlic. Add one clove of pressed garlic for each 16 oz of sour cream. Or more if you are a garlic lover like I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States