Sour Cream Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is, hands down, the best cornbread recipe I have ever had! Very moist and flavorful. I substituted 2 cups of plain, fat free yogurt for the 2 cups of sour cream. It was still fantastic without the added fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I am not a big fan of sweet cornbread but my family is. So I compromised and halved the sugar. We all loved it. One of the best homemade corn breads I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Absolutely the best recipe for cornbread that I have tried. I find it hilarious that people say they love the recipes, then tell how they changed it. This moist cornbread recipe can't be improved on...period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Image Maker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Just made this, but with a few substitutions to make it less sweet, more savory, and healthier. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream (as I do in most baked recipes calling for sour cream), 1/2 the butter, no sugar, and a few Tbs honey. Oh, and I added chopped onions and frozen corn. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Moist, moist, moist. It must be the sour cream, this was definitely the best pan of cornbread I've ever turned out. I'm a very average baker though ;). I made exactly as directed and kept covered in the fridge, we are still enjoying pieces several days later. In the future I'll probably half the recipe as there are usually just two people eating, that's the only possible change I would make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I added a chopped jalpeno pepper, and 1/4 cup each of grated cheddar and diced crisp bacon pieces. The sweet and savory was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this cornbread without the sugar. It was very good, I don't understand why everyone must add so much sugar to all of theses recipes. I don't like sweet anything, my opinion; sugar it detracts from the great flavors of other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was absolutely the best cornbread ever!! The only substitution I made was to use William Sonoma Gluten Free flour and it was yuuummmy. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Great cornbread recipe. Perfect for when you are out of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Of the vast array of Cornbread Recipes I have tried over the years (& I've been cookin' for 45+ yrs) this is Hands-Down THE VERY BEST Cornbread Recipe In Existence. No Contest!! You could add some corn or some finely chopped green/red pepper or jalapeno but this is the recipe to start with! Thank You so much! My search for Perfect Homemade Cornbread has come to a screeching halt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talaria

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States