Sour Cream Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My go-to cornbread recipe. My only change is that I bake it in a preheated skillet. And jeez people, stop changing the recipe and rating your version! This is a northern-style, sweet cornbread. If you want a savory bread, find a recipe that describes itself as "Southern" or something similar. We in the North love our sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan'sCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Super tasty, moist and sweet, even though I cut the sugar to a scant cup. i would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Great recipe! Delicious cornbread - no changes necessary. I can see how you could reduce the sugar, but it is delicious with the full amount, not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this with a scant cup of lucuma powder instead of the sugar and it was wonderful alongside a stew! We also did millet flour instead of the cornmeal and gluten-free all-purpose flour instead of the regular. Finally, I couldn't find sour cream so did a mix of coconut cream and apple cider vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is the only cornbread our oldest daughter will eat. We went to New Orleans a few summers ago for a mission trip. While there we ate several authentic N'rleans meals. They had cornbread one night and our daughter, who does not like cornbread, ate 3 helpings! LOL I made this to go with soup and she said this was just as good if not better as the cornbread she had that night, so this is now my go to recipe. My only change is to use greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is ABSOLUTELY THE BEST CORNBREAD Iv EVER TASTED!!! Im seriously deleting every other recipe I have!! There is no reason for me to keep them!! This cornbread is very flavorful! sooooo moist!! Its scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This was moist and delicious. To make it a little healthier, I used yoghurt instead of sour cream, cut the sugar to 1 cup, and the butter (I used oil) to 2/3 cups. My family enjoyed it even when it was lightened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Well. To start, cornbread is as important... and controversial... as the chili its paired with. I use several different recipes, depending on what it's going with. Today I was just browsing, looking for something I hadn't tried yet to go with my Firehouse chili. "Sour cream" caught my eye. I've used it in many things to maintain moisture. Quick breads, sandwich bread, muffins, etc. So I was not surprised when these muffins turned out moist yet properly cornbread crumbly, perfect golden color, perfect golden light crust on top, perfect sweetness. I must admit my hand automatically reached for the homegrown honey jar rather than all that sugar... I restrained myself to just a tablespoon of honey in a halved recipe, and used only 1/4 the sugar. Only real change I made. And that was only b/c I was unscrewing the top of the honey jar before I realized what I was doing. :) Very good recipe. Used unbleached flour, worked fine. Used light sour cream, worked fine. Used homegrown brown and blue eggs, worked fine... probably added to the richness of the color, as they are much darker than commercial white eggs. Muffins baked just through at 375 for 27 minutes. Easy, fast, yummy. My 4 y/o son scarfed FOUR in as many minutes. Will use again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Family loved this cornbread. I am a calorie saver so I halved the sugar as I thought it would be too sweet and used fat free sour cream. I am glad I did. It was still sweet enough. Leftover cornbread froze well. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States