Sour Cream Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
We loved it! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepriest
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I thought this was way too rich. Too much sugar, sour cream, butter, and eggs. Almost like a cake. I prefer the "Sweet Cornbread" recipe, which is actually much less sweet than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Hate to be cliche, but yup, like other reviewers mentioned... BEST cornbread recipe. And I've tried several on here and elsewhere. This was the texture I was looking for, moist without being too dense, good flavor. And I know this is to the chagrin of most people, but I made this recipe tonight - first time - and i made a few sub'ns. Halving it to fit our family, I used up the last of my plain Greek yogurt (approx 1 cup), but only because that was what I had on hand and I wasn't about to go out to store just for sour cream (that we don't consume often anyway). Also used 1/2 sprouted wheat flour and half AP flour, and a smidgen less sugar. Batter seemed a little thick so added a splash of milk, prob from the yogurt. I promise next time I make it I'll follow recipe to a T, but considering it was a last minute decision to make cornbread with what I had on hand...this was already good. No doubt it'll be even better next time! Never seen my kids eat so much cornbread in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The best recipe hands down. i get so many compliments on this cornbread, even from those who hate cornbread. this is a high requested food in my home. We use Pamelas Gluten Free Baking Mix instead of flour and my husband likes it better then the regular flour version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was the best cornbread I've ever had! I did not melt the butter enough so it went to the bottom and was bubbling away when I looked in the oven - the middle of my pan (I halved the recipe and used an 8x8) a bit soggy but not bad at all (we were eating it for breakfast with syrup). This will be my cornbread recipe going forward - it was delicious! Husband loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amira Judith Jacobs
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
loved this cornbread recipe. husband went and bought the cornbread flour for me to make it from scratch and for a. first time cornbread maker I was totally tooting my own horn. lol. definately going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was still a little dry, however it had a good taste. Hubby like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Nice but mine out a little crumbly. Good taste and all loved it. Texture was light and was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My go-to cornbread recipe. My only change is that I bake it in a preheated skillet. And jeez people, stop changing the recipe and rating your version! This is a northern-style, sweet cornbread. If you want a savory bread, find a recipe that describes itself as "Southern" or something similar. We in the North love our sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan'sCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Super tasty, moist and sweet, even though I cut the sugar to a scant cup. i would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States