Sour Cream Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Well. To start, cornbread is as important... and controversial... as the chili its paired with. I use several different recipes, depending on what it's going with. Today I was just browsing, looking for something I hadn't tried yet to go with my Firehouse chili. "Sour cream" caught my eye. I've used it in many things to maintain moisture. Quick breads, sandwich bread, muffins, etc. So I was not surprised when these muffins turned out moist yet properly cornbread crumbly, perfect golden color, perfect golden light crust on top, perfect sweetness. I must admit my hand automatically reached for the homegrown honey jar rather than all that sugar... I restrained myself to just a tablespoon of honey in a halved recipe, and used only 1/4 the sugar. Only real change I made. And that was only b/c I was unscrewing the top of the honey jar before I realized what I was doing. :) Very good recipe. Used unbleached flour, worked fine. Used light sour cream, worked fine. Used homegrown brown and blue eggs, worked fine... probably added to the richness of the color, as they are much darker than commercial white eggs. Muffins baked just through at 375 for 27 minutes. Easy, fast, yummy. My 4 y/o son scarfed FOUR in as many minutes. Will use again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Family loved this cornbread. I am a calorie saver so I halved the sugar as I thought it would be too sweet and used fat free sour cream. I am glad I did. It was still sweet enough. Leftover cornbread froze well. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This is hands down the best cornbread I've ever made. Very moist and sweet on the inside and buttery crispy on the outside. I halved the recipe for a 9 in pan and baked for 25 min. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very moist. My family loved it! As suggested, I substituted the sour cream with yogurt and cut the sugar down to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
THE BEST cornbread I have ever had! I always shied away from cornbread because it turned out so dry. I did not change the recipe at all. I served it hot with butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Great bread! Very moist, tasty and a great texture. I haven't had luck finding a corn bread to settle on but this will qualify. Made exactly as written (except for a half recipe in an 8x8 pan-same cooking time). Now that I've tried it I can try the yogurt, decreased sugar variations to make less calories but this was quite fine as is. Hubby ate a bunch and he is not a big corn bread fan. Served with Ellie11's "Delicious Ham and Potatoe Soup" form AR-a good pairing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I have tried other corn bread recipes, however,this was the easiest and the best. My family loved it and asked that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Best homemeade cornbread I've ever had! Followed the recipe exactly, and it comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wow! I cut back on the sugar (used 1/2 cup) and butter (used 1/2 cup) and sub'd fat free plain yogurt for the sour cream. Magnificent. (And more than sweet enough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this cornbread without the sugar. It was very good, I don't understand why everyone must add so much sugar to all of theses recipes. I don't like sweet anything, my opinion; sugar it detracts from the great flavors of other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States