Sour Cream Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Rated four stars only because I changed the recipe, so I can't speak to the original recipe. ;) I followed everything to a "t", except made the following changes: halved the recipe, cooked in a 9 x 9 glass brownie pan, mixed half sour cream/half yogurt and brought both the sour cream/yogurt and eggs to room temp before mixing. Instead of sugar, I used 1/3 cup of raw local honey. Baked at 375 for 20 minutes, rotating once for even baking. It was perfect. Super moist, not too sweet and a bit savory. Love it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I made this some time this past February for work. We were having a chili cook off and someone asked if I can make cornbread. Since it was for a big group, I multiplied the recipe twice. It was a hit! perfect crumble and moisture. No left overs and people kept stopping by my office to tell me how great it was. I also saw a few people take a plate home. =) Im going to make this again tomorrow for a bonfire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
We loved it! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepriest
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I thought this was way too rich. Too much sugar, sour cream, butter, and eggs. Almost like a cake. I prefer the "Sweet Cornbread" recipe, which is actually much less sweet than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Hate to be cliche, but yup, like other reviewers mentioned... BEST cornbread recipe. And I've tried several on here and elsewhere. This was the texture I was looking for, moist without being too dense, good flavor. And I know this is to the chagrin of most people, but I made this recipe tonight - first time - and i made a few sub'ns. Halving it to fit our family, I used up the last of my plain Greek yogurt (approx 1 cup), but only because that was what I had on hand and I wasn't about to go out to store just for sour cream (that we don't consume often anyway). Also used 1/2 sprouted wheat flour and half AP flour, and a smidgen less sugar. Batter seemed a little thick so added a splash of milk, prob from the yogurt. I promise next time I make it I'll follow recipe to a T, but considering it was a last minute decision to make cornbread with what I had on hand...this was already good. No doubt it'll be even better next time! Never seen my kids eat so much cornbread in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The best recipe hands down. i get so many compliments on this cornbread, even from those who hate cornbread. this is a high requested food in my home. We use Pamelas Gluten Free Baking Mix instead of flour and my husband likes it better then the regular flour version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This was the best cornbread I've ever had! I did not melt the butter enough so it went to the bottom and was bubbling away when I looked in the oven - the middle of my pan (I halved the recipe and used an 8x8) a bit soggy but not bad at all (we were eating it for breakfast with syrup). This will be my cornbread recipe going forward - it was delicious! Husband loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amira Judith Jacobs
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
loved this cornbread recipe. husband went and bought the cornbread flour for me to make it from scratch and for a. first time cornbread maker I was totally tooting my own horn. lol. definately going to be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was still a little dry, however it had a good taste. Hubby like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Nice but mine out a little crumbly. Good taste and all loved it. Texture was light and was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States