Sour Cream Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Delicious cookies with the recommended icing for sour cream cookies on this site. I did reduce the pecans to 1 1/2 cups chopped. and used 1/4 cup shortening and 1/4 cup coconut oil. Also my all purpose flour was all purpose whole wheat flour. And I used golden raisins which I soaked in the beaten eggs ahead. So raisins and eggs went into fat and sugar mixture together. I refrigerated dough several hours or overnight. That was just convenient for me. These cookies have a lovely flavor and texture. Patrizia 3/25/2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kanri
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Made these for dessert and they were AMAZING. I made the following alterations: I used whole wheat flour, half the amount of pecans, craisins instead of raisins, fat free sour cream, and margarine instead of butter. Their texture right out of the oven was reminiscent of cornbread and naturally sweet - and I used the frosting from this site and it tied the whole experience together. I will definitely be making these again. Next time though I will be using good old fattening regular sour cream and lots more craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I only thing I changed about this recipe was I used whole wheat flour, didn't use pecans or raisins. But I did use different mix ins. I added some oatmeal, chocolate chips, and peanut butter chips to half the batch and cinnamon chips to the other half. These cookies were cake like and I found them to be more than sweet enough plain. This is a great base recipe for those whole like cake cookies. These stay super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are definately more of a "biscuit" (with a hint of sweetnest) than a cookie. My family liked them alot though. The only problem I had was with them burning so I turned the oven down to 325 and did not grease the cookie sheet (used a non stick) and they came out great! I strongly suggest icing them, the extra little bit of sweetness makes them that much tastier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These were inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Photo by ChanaLeah
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Yum-yum, five stars! They are kind of like a scone, as another reviewer said but that's fine they go great with a cup of coffee! And the Icing for Sour Cream Cookies from this site really makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These are easy to prepare and very tasty. I do wonder about the one teaspoon size cookies, however. I used my 1 Tablespoon cookie scoop and made 50 cookies. They baked in about 18 minutes at 350 (my oven is accurate). Instead of greasing the cookie sheet, try using parchment paper. Just throw it out when finished and clean-up is a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great recipe, it's a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I baked these for a party and the cookies were a hit! The icing recipe for these cookies is excellent,too! Thank you, Celeste for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Pretty much the only reason why I made these cookies was because my name is also Celeste, so I was excited to find someone else with that name! And, well, the cookies - they were great! I will defintely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States