Sour Cream Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These are a great cookie both for those who prefer a less-sweet version (as-is), and for those who like sweet (iced with Icing for Sour Cream Cookies on this site). I agree that they are almost like little scones (not a moist cookie, and they don't spread). I found that they cooked in much less time than noted - my oven temp is accurate, and 13 minutes was plenty, so watch carefully. Love that they're packed full of nuts, and I used golden raisins in my version - a little more subtle flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
My family has been making these for Christmas for over 40 years. They are always a crowd pleaser, and even the naysayers who dont like sour cream love them. They freeze well too. We have never iced ours though, will have to try that and we have never added nuts or raisins. I am not sure why, as it sounds delightful, but almost always add a bit of extra sugar and vanilla, as I like mine sweeter. The lumpy shape is a nice contrast to the typical "Cut out" cookie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
These are a good not too sweet cookie. They wern't as good the next day though. I used a buttercream frosting. I thought it was a good combo. My 20 month old loved them! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Thought these were very good but not sure if I made a mistake as they turned out more like mini scones instead of a cookie. The icing does make the difference although if you wanted a little something less sweet the cookie would be fine without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I mistakenly bought light sour cream and the cookies turned out fine. Wouldn't know I used the light in them. I made the first turn plain because I was afraid they wouldn't be any good and didn't want to waste my pecans and raisins. Hubby said to add the rest as the cookies were fine. So the last few batches we had pecans and raisins in them and used the icing that goes with the cookies. Thought the icing would be too sweet as I didn't even use all the sugar in it but because the cookies aren't sweet, the icing went well with them, though we used it sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Everyone I made these for loved them, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Very good cookies...I have been looking for a recipe for a cookie that was made at our wedding and this is the closest I have found...will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Sure to be a keeper! unusual and very good sour cream cookies, baked up nicely and are great even without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I baked several kinds of cookies this year and these were by far the easiest to prepare and the best tasting, be sure to use the sour cream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States