Sour Cream Coffee Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I made this yesterday and only have 2 pieces left. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. I added margarine instead of the shortening. I did not put in half of the batter first I spay coated the pan and put all of the batter in. Then I generously shook the cinnamon and sugar mixture over the top. I also took a knife and made swirly movements till it was all the way through the batter then I shook more cinnamon sugar on top. This was liked by all the boys as well as Hubby and I. I will definitely make this again. Thanks Terri for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was very easy to make and very tasty, however I think that brown sugar would be better for the cinnamon sugar mix that is put on top and in between the layers. I would also add a few toasted nuts to the topping to make it extra yummy. Overall, a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was great! It raised well and had a tender crumb. I substituted brown sugar for the topping and must confess.....doubled the topping! Thank you Terri, for posting a tasty and economical recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This coffee cake was moist, mildly sweet, and had a beautiful crumb texture. I've already made this several times and have made it a "regular" on the weekend breakfast menu. I sometimes put in some fruit in the middle layer, with a little cinnamon and brown sugar, then put the remaining cinnamon mixture on top with some pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this with a few modifications (only because of what I did/didn't have on hand). I used 1/4 c. shortening and 1/4 c. margarine instead of all shortening; I used dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar for the filling; and I added some pecan pieces to the brown sugar mixture. This was really quite yummy-licious. So yummy-licious in fact, that I ate the entire thing myself, piece by piece by piece, within 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Definitely a coffee "cake" rather than a coffee "bread". This easy-to-make recipe yields a wonderfully tender pastry that is a bit lacking in flavor. I will definitely make it again but add some fruit (blueberries) or nuts (toasted almonds + almond extract) to enhance the flavor. This recipe could also be used in a shortcake-type role with fresh fruit and a dollop of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Wow! Takes some time to mix but well worth the effort. I used brown sugar for the center/top and upped the amount to 1/3 cup. Used 1/2 for the middle layer and added toasted chopped pecans to the top along with about 1/4 stick of cold butter cut sliced and cut into quarters over the entire thing. When the butter melted and folded back into the cake there formed a very nice roll of the sugar, cinnamon down into the cake surface. This was a MUCH prettier and tasty presentation. Thanks Terri for a classic coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINBOWELP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Really good despite my mistake. I put all the topping in the middle by accident. I did add a little almond extract and will probably add some vanilla next time as it was a wee bit bland. But overall easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
We enjoyed this, nice with a glass of milk or a cup of coffee. I did add a tsp of vanilla to the batter and double the topping/filling as sugggested-even so the cake was a bit bland. Not sure if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is a very tender cake, & has a good crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States