Sour Cream Coffee Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I made this yesterday and only have 2 pieces left. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 13 pan. I added margarine instead of the shortening. I did not put in half of the batter first I spay coated the pan and put all of the batter in. Then I generously shook the cinnamon and sugar mixture over the top. I also took a knife and made swirly movements till it was all the way through the batter then I shook more cinnamon sugar on top. This was liked by all the boys as well as Hubby and I. I will definitely make this again. Thanks Terri for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was very easy to make and very tasty, however I think that brown sugar would be better for the cinnamon sugar mix that is put on top and in between the layers. I would also add a few toasted nuts to the topping to make it extra yummy. Overall, a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was great! It raised well and had a tender crumb. I substituted brown sugar for the topping and must confess.....doubled the topping! Thank you Terri, for posting a tasty and economical recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This coffee cake was moist, mildly sweet, and had a beautiful crumb texture. I've already made this several times and have made it a "regular" on the weekend breakfast menu. I sometimes put in some fruit in the middle layer, with a little cinnamon and brown sugar, then put the remaining cinnamon mixture on top with some pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this with a few modifications (only because of what I did/didn't have on hand). I used 1/4 c. shortening and 1/4 c. margarine instead of all shortening; I used dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar for the filling; and I added some pecan pieces to the brown sugar mixture. This was really quite yummy-licious. So yummy-licious in fact, that I ate the entire thing myself, piece by piece by piece, within 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Definitely a coffee "cake" rather than a coffee "bread". This easy-to-make recipe yields a wonderfully tender pastry that is a bit lacking in flavor. I will definitely make it again but add some fruit (blueberries) or nuts (toasted almonds + almond extract) to enhance the flavor. This recipe could also be used in a shortcake-type role with fresh fruit and a dollop of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Wow! Takes some time to mix but well worth the effort. I used brown sugar for the center/top and upped the amount to 1/3 cup. Used 1/2 for the middle layer and added toasted chopped pecans to the top along with about 1/4 stick of cold butter cut sliced and cut into quarters over the entire thing. When the butter melted and folded back into the cake there formed a very nice roll of the sugar, cinnamon down into the cake surface. This was a MUCH prettier and tasty presentation. Thanks Terri for a classic coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINBOWELP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Really good despite my mistake. I put all the topping in the middle by accident. I did add a little almond extract and will probably add some vanilla next time as it was a wee bit bland. But overall easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
We enjoyed this, nice with a glass of milk or a cup of coffee. I did add a tsp of vanilla to the batter and double the topping/filling as sugggested-even so the cake was a bit bland. Not sure if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is a very tender cake, & has a good crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States