Sour Cream Coffee Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I found this recipe a bit eggy tasting and dry without enough sugar/cinnamon in the middle. I substituted butter for shortening and used a square glass pan (add 10 minutes to bake time,) so that may have affected the recipe. If I tried it again, I would double the cinnamon/sugar that goes in the middle of the recipe. This cake fortunately was better the second and third day, after refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belding, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this last night and it was meant to be a breakfast cake for hubby in the morning. Well, our home smelled so good while it was baking that we decided to eat some for dessert. It was still warm and light with a light flavor and crusty top. Delicious! This morning I found a note from hubby that it was wonderful in his milk for breakfast, too! I took someone else's advice and folded in the dry ingredients and sour cream instead of beating them in to avoid a tough batter. I used brown sugar for the filling/topping and also flecks of butter. The cake rose very well, and was very moist. I refrigerated it overnight and this morning it seemed heavier and denser. It was sweet but not overly so which is exactly what I like. Great recipe, Terri! It's going to be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dardago, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was a tasty recipe, but more of the cinnamon-sugar mix in multiple layers as well as laid in a 13x9 pan and this would be perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is a very tender cake, & has a good crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
We enjoyed this, nice with a glass of milk or a cup of coffee. I did add a tsp of vanilla to the batter and double the topping/filling as sugggested-even so the cake was a bit bland. Not sure if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Really good despite my mistake. I put all the topping in the middle by accident. I did add a little almond extract and will probably add some vanilla next time as it was a wee bit bland. But overall easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Wow! Takes some time to mix but well worth the effort. I used brown sugar for the center/top and upped the amount to 1/3 cup. Used 1/2 for the middle layer and added toasted chopped pecans to the top along with about 1/4 stick of cold butter cut sliced and cut into quarters over the entire thing. When the butter melted and folded back into the cake there formed a very nice roll of the sugar, cinnamon down into the cake surface. This was a MUCH prettier and tasty presentation. Thanks Terri for a classic coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINBOWELP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Definitely a coffee "cake" rather than a coffee "bread". This easy-to-make recipe yields a wonderfully tender pastry that is a bit lacking in flavor. I will definitely make it again but add some fruit (blueberries) or nuts (toasted almonds + almond extract) to enhance the flavor. This recipe could also be used in a shortcake-type role with fresh fruit and a dollop of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I made this with a few modifications (only because of what I did/didn't have on hand). I used 1/4 c. shortening and 1/4 c. margarine instead of all shortening; I used dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar for the filling; and I added some pecan pieces to the brown sugar mixture. This was really quite yummy-licious. So yummy-licious in fact, that I ate the entire thing myself, piece by piece by piece, within 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This coffee cake was moist, mildly sweet, and had a beautiful crumb texture. I've already made this several times and have made it a "regular" on the weekend breakfast menu. I sometimes put in some fruit in the middle layer, with a little cinnamon and brown sugar, then put the remaining cinnamon mixture on top with some pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States