Sour Cream Coffee Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Great coffeecake recipe! I used butter instead of shortening and added cooked apples to the batter and the top before baking in a 13X9 pan. It was perfection - very moist and not too sweet. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I thought this was great. I added 1/2t vanilla and 1/4t cinnamon to the batter; also added chopped walnuts to the sugar/cinnamon mixture. I topped it all with Alton Brown's doughtnut glaze. I thought this cake was wonderful. The cake was moist, plenty sweet... delicious! THX for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lotlot
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
awesome!I made this for a friend and ended up eating it myself so I had to make another one... however I used brown sugar and added some pecans. my friends loved it and kept asking me when I will make this cake again. thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lotlot

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The basic recipe is fantastic. It does need more topping though. I have make this a couple time adding canned peaches, frozen blueberries, or jam and it works out perfectly. I've also used yogurt instead of the sour cream and it works just as well or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NutsBabyGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
What can I say except Wow and double wow. I am a bakers daughter and found this cake to be moist, easy to make...but it was harder to keep any for myself and my morning cup of coffee. I did manage to take a photo to post here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NutsBabyGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This coffee cake rose beautifully and has perfect texture but is a little on the bland side. I made the recipe exactly as written even though the other reviewers said it needed a little something. I will make again but will add some vanilla and brown sugar to spice it up a little. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rotorwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I am always trying to find a streusal coffee cake that compares to those Hostess cakes. This was close. I had to subtract a star because the batter did need a little something. I added 2tsp vanilla and a little cinamon and nutmeg. I also found the batter thick, so it was a little hard to spread. I made this cake with butter, I dont keep shortening in my house. I made a streusal topping (butter, brown sugar, sugar & grahman cracker)and put that in the middle and on top. I always reserve streusel and when the cake comes out of the oven I melt it with a little milk or vanilla almond breeze and 1 tsp honey. I lightly drizzle the melted goodness on the cake slice and on the serving plate. Tonight it was just me & the hubby eating the cake....I even drizzled it on our paper plates, lol....sooo yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Light, fluffy and very good. I used butter instead of shortening and added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. For the filling, I used brown sugar instead of white and took a knife and swirled it through the batter before baking. Very moist, I might add nuts to the filling next time for some crunch.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Wow, this is the lightest and fluffiest (is that even a word? I don't really care :b) cake I have ever made. I made a couple of modifications, I used 2 tsp baking powder instead of baking soda, 1 cup evaporated milk + 1 2/3 table spoons vinegar in place of sour cream. Having read things about it being tough, I beat the margarine/sugar (which I cut down cause I don't like sweet things much) more, added the eggs together and whipped it in hope for it to be lighter. Than I folded into the flour/sour cream alternatively and baked it round 37 minutes at the temperature stated. Yum! Next time though, I will prob not put the sugar on top, kinda hard when the only way for me to remove the cake is to flip it, may totally cut the sugar out next time for it to be "healthier"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajerde
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a very good basic recipe for coffee cake! The batter was much more muffin-like than I anticipated and needed to be pushed to the sides of the pan, which was harder to do for the second layer without messing up the first. Be careful not to over-mix! I made a "perhaps slightly more healthful" version and made it with white whole wheat flour, smart balance (instead of shortening), and fat-free sour cream. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla as others had suggested. Definitely adaptable to add things like currents, raisins, walnuts, pecans, etc as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajerde
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States